Cookie Kick

I’ve been on a bit of a cookie kick lately. It started with the World Peace cookies and I haven’t been able to shake the urge to make cookies. Thankfully I have coworkers that I can bring my baking excess to. I’m thinking they’re going to extend my maternity leave a little longer if I keep bringing them these baked goodies. 🙂

I decided I needed to venture away from chocolate based treats just to make sure that I wasn’t missing out on something delicious that wasn’t chocolate (blasphemy, right?). Well, I do have a soft spot for shortbread style cookies. Dipped in chocolate though. 🙂 Enter, pecan sandies. . . essentially a mexican wedding cookie without the powdered sugar on the outside. Sadly, I over-roasted the pecans and these cookies tasted vaguely of burnt popcorn. The texture was perfect and the taste would have been had I not been preoccupied with baby while the pecans were roasting. I love the size and the shape of these – perfect for grabbing a small handful of to munch on. Even though I messed up the pecans, I still feel that recipe is worth passing on:

Recipe for Pecan Sandies

After the pecan sandies, I thought it might be nice to gift some biscotti to a friend of mine, so I did a bit of research and came up with this recipe. Biscotti seems so fancy, but it’s really so easy! I kept these guys a bit smaller than my last biscotti that I made and I thought they turned out great. Perfect for dunking in a cup of coffee or tea. Loved the almond flavoring.

Recipe for Nonna’s Biscotti

And of course, both are delicious dipped in chocolate (I couldn’t resist)!

3 Comments

  1. Posted July 31, 2009 at 11:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    That’s fun. My mom makes some chocolate hazelnut biscottis…she used to put them in my lunch when I was in school and I had a teacher that used to make fun of me because my mom made us biscottis – he thought it only heightened the fact that I was from the West Coast (other than the tie-die and dream-catcher, feather studded earrings).

    • Elizabeth
      Posted July 31, 2009 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

      That. Is. Awesome.

      Do you still have the dream-catcher, feather studded earrings? I’d like to borrow those! 😉

  2. Posted August 4, 2009 at 1:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    As a lover of all things cookies, I loved reading this post. Hope you continue to have fun with your cookie baking kick.

One Trackback

  1. By Recipe Sharing: Biscotti | Save For Later on August 7, 2009 at 8:18 am

    […] found this recipe via this blog that I subscribe to. So quick and easy- exactly what I […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

