Smitten’s Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

Forgive me all you dieters out there, but the cookie madness is continuing. Jason begged me to make a normal cookie. And to him, there is only one cookie: the chocolate chip cookie. Now there are a bazillion recipes out there for the perfect chocolate chip cookie and I don’t know that I claim that this one is IT, but it’s close. It packs in a ton of chocolate chips and subtly sneaks in the nuts in such a way that even those that think they don’t like nuts in their cookies will not know the difference.

I threw the pecans that are called for in the recipe into the food processor and processed them until they were almost pecan flour. . . I found out long ago that leaving out the nuts in a recipe that calls for them makes a strange cookie. Apparently you have to do something to make up for the subtraction and I’m not an experienced enough baker to know what that substitution is. 🙂 Therefore, I leave the nuts in, just pummeled until you just get the taste of the nuts and not much of the texture! Oh and I’m falling in love with my silpat all over again. One of my favorite kitchen items, for sure. If you don’t have one, you should get one soon. NOTHING sticks to a silpat which is good because my baking pans suck. A lot.

And much to Jason’s pleasure, the cookies turned out fantastic. Crispy on the edges and soft in the middle, packed full with chocolate chips. And I just used boring old tollhouse semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time I’m making these with some delicious bittersweet higher quality chocolate chips. . . drool.

Recipe for Our Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

8 Comments

  1. Posted August 3, 2009 at 9:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    Well, don’t tell anyone, because it’s my cookie baking secret, but it’s flour. Add half the amount called for in nuts in flour instead, and they turn out perfect. (Thanks, Mom!)

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 3, 2009 at 9:55 am | Permalink | Reply

      Ah ha! I think you may have told me that once after a cookie baking disaster at the condo, but at that point I had decided never to make cookies again! Thanks Jenn!

  2. Posted August 3, 2009 at 9:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have been loving all your dessert posts! I’m 31 weeks pregnant and will FOR SURE be making these after I run to the store for chocolate chips! Being pregnant is a great excuse to be making goodies all the time 🙂 Thanks for the recipes!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 3, 2009 at 10:09 am | Permalink | Reply

      It most certainly is a good reason! I mean, homemade goodies are better for the baby! 🙂

  3. Posted August 3, 2009 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so exciting to try these! I forgot about them last night and this morning when I saw the blog, I was so sad that I didn’t have one before bed last night! Oh well…I guess I know what I’ll be doing first thing when I get home!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 3, 2009 at 10:08 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yum! They are a good bed time snack (or middle of the night snack)!

  4. Tara
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 1:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have a chocolate chip cookie curse… I can make ANY other kind of cookie in the world and they will turn out perfect, but I fail miserably at the CCC every time. Maybe this recipe will be the one to break it 🙂 Oh, and I’ve always wanted to try Giada’s version which uses hazelnuts.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 4, 2009 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I would have said I had that curse too but these have turned out perfectly twice now! And hazelnuts… that sounds like a brilliant idea!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

