The Historian

the-historianI have been reading this book for what feels like forever! I started it with two weeks left in the pregnancy and finally just finished it the other day. The Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova, jumps right on the vampire craze that seems to be going on right now. It tells the story of a group of people setting out to find Dracula’s final resting place. It was super long and honestly, I’m not sure that I enjoyed this book all that much. The climax was short and not at all what I was anticipating, not to mention the ending left a little to be desired. I almost felt like so much history and research was put into the beginning parts of the book that the climax and ending were cop outs. The writing style is nice and I did get sucked into the story. . . but only for it to end in disappointment. I’m a bit sad that I spent so much time reading this long book. Not highly recommended. 4/10

6 Comments

  1. Rosie
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 3:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, thanks for the review – I’d been hoping to read it at some point, but now I don’t think I’ll bother. Not fussed by the vampire bandwagon!
    Rosie

  2. elliek
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 4:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I had this on my reminder list, but I must not have read the description…I’m not really a vampire person and I’m really trying to read books that I hear of good quality…Thanks!

  3. Posted August 4, 2009 at 4:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I read this book last Halloween. There were many times that I had to go back and re-read sections because I was VERY confused. And I definitely thought it was WAY too long. It could have gone without many parts. My favorite parts were the letters and I would have liked it better if there were more. This is one that I’m going to try to read again this Halloween (get me into the spooky spirit) so I can catch the things I missed.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 4, 2009 at 4:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I agree, I think the letters were probably the best part! I kept getting confused as to who was telling the story since you have so many people writing letters, past and present. . . and then between everyone’s different accounts of their encounters with the dragon and the book. . . it was confusing.

  4. Carol
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 6:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Like you, it took me forever to read The Historian. It is the author’s first book and a bestseller, so I had high hopes for it. I agree, it was too long and too confusing.

  5. sharon
    Posted August 7, 2009 at 12:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Why did you say so?!!! I’ve been reading it for the past 2 weeks. I borrowed it from Molly Casey. I like the history part of it and have been reading it slowly because I guess I don’t want to be disappointed but now that you have confirmed it, I fell down. But, I will still read it because it it a sin to leave a book unfinished!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

