Grasshopper Brownies

And continuing with the sweets, I made these Andes look-a-like brownies as a dessert for some sweet friends that had us over for dinner the other night. I am swearing up and down that these are the last baked goods that I’m making like this for awhile! It’s all frozen yogurt, sorbets and fruit from now on. . . well, until an occasion arises that demands something more indulgent. 🙂

Like Smitten Kitchen, I left out the creme de menthe in the recipe and added one drop of green food coloring to the white chocolate/mint layer. I also halved the amount of cream in both ganaches that the recipe calls for with great results (Smitten complained that the ganache was too runny and didn’t set – this fixed the problem)! These brownies are amazing and almost are more like a candy than a brownie at all. I think these are pretty impressive little treats if you are looking for a dessert to wow people!

Recipe for Grasshopper Brownies

5 Comments

  1. Posted August 6, 2009 at 1:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These looks so good! I love chocolate and mint together!

    BTW we had cake at our staff meeting on Tuesday and I said something about the ganache dripping down the side and I got made fun of for knowing the difference between ganache and regular frosting 😦

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      That’s hilarious! Ganache is SO much better than frosting (IMHO). I mean chocolate and cream versus butter and sugar? I’ll take chocolate and cream any day!

    • Posted August 7, 2009 at 5:03 am | Permalink | Reply

      Aww don’t worry Ellie, it’s all icing to me – frosting sounds like something made from water, like frost! Although so does icing, hmm not really thought about those words too much before – it’s all yummy anyway that’s what matters!

  2. Posted August 7, 2009 at 6:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my goodness. I think heaven has come to earth with this recipe – certainly worth catching up on all of my missed blog readings. 🙂

  3. Posted August 12, 2009 at 8:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    YUMMM. Those look delicious. Two of my favorite things in one – brownie and mint chocolate. All that’s missing is icecream. 😉

One Trackback

  1. […] to my pre-pregnancy weight. I haven’t been very good with what I’ve been eating lately (I mean, can’t you tell?) and this is the beginning of my effort to rectify that. This is a […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

