A Sewing Saturday (and Sunday)

I haven’t sewn anything since Jude’s Kimono two days before he was born. That’s about 2 months now. Quite sad if you ask me. Well, we had another SEWcial this past Saturday, Jason and Jude had a ‘Daddy Day’ and I got to sew with the ladies! I took this opportunity to catch up on making some slings as gifts for several coworkers and friends that will be having their little ones soon (and one was for Jason too)! I finished up all six that I had set out to make and felt quite accomplished:

You might also notice the lovely lady in gray that is showcasing the slings. That was a craigslist deal that Jenn found for me. $15. . . crazy what people give away! She is an adjustable dress form. I’m pretty excited to stick her in my new craft area at the new house. I’m pretty sure she needs a name. Any suggestions?

And the Sunday sewing (it was started on Saturday but didn’t quite get finished before we needed to get to bed). Since I’m still not down to my pre-pregnancy weight, I have only be able to wear my maternity jeans. And it is HOT here in Austin. It’s been at or near 100 degrees outside since Jude was born. So, I’m determined to make a few skirts so that I am not sweating every time I step foot outside. So here is the first:

It’s a little girlier than what I typically go for, but I couldn’t get the thought of having a ruffle with this Alexander Henry fabric out of my head. So I went for it and I like it. 🙂 I used Sew What Skirts to guide me through the process. Hopefully there will be several more skirts being made soon.

So yay, with this post I can call this a craft blog again! 🙂 There will be more to come!

15 Comments

  1. Posted August 10, 2009 at 3:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am still quite impressed at how much you got done! And I love the skirt. Super cute!

  2. Posted August 10, 2009 at 3:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yesterday, I was driving away from Concert of Praise and I saw a woman out walking three little Chihuahuas. As I drove past her, I realized she was wearing a baby sling, only the sling was carrying a fourth chihauhau and not a baby. So apparently, these baby slings have many functions. Just FYI.

    PS I think the skirt is really cute.

  3. Posted August 10, 2009 at 4:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Seriously…you got so much done on Saturday!! And I love the skirt. I love making easy skirts with elastic waistbands for needed new outfits! 🙂

  4. Michelle
    Posted August 10, 2009 at 4:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Elizabeth,

    I stumbled on your blog a while back and I have always meant to post something – these slings caught my attention! Not to mention the fabulous deal from Craigslist, just did a search in my area and the cheapest is $150, dang it!

    Hoping that you could provide a tutorial or links to where I might be able to get a pattern or instructions on how to make the baby slings?

    Thanks!
    Michelle

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 11, 2009 at 2:43 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, I’ve been thinking about doing a tutorial on pocket slings but was trying to figure out how to do it. You see, I originally bought a tutorial to make my first sling but I’ve modified it since. I’m not sure where copyright begins and common creative concepts begin! Let me do some research and see what I can do because I would like to share how to make slings. I think they are one of the most helpful items a new mom can have and I’m all about helping new moms out!

      • Michelle
        Posted August 11, 2009 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Perhaps if you post where you purchased your tutorial and then list out the modifications you made? I’ve seen that done a number of times on different blogs (not sure if that constitutes copyright infringement).

        Michelle

        • Elizabeth
          Posted August 11, 2009 at 8:19 pm | Permalink

          Well, it’s not actually for sale any longer. . . I think I’m going to do a photo tutorial in my own words incorporating the modifications that I’ve made. I think this sling concept is common enough now that I wouldn’t be infringing any copyright since I would be writing it all in my own words!

  5. Posted August 10, 2009 at 4:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your skirt is really cute and I love the ruffle!

  6. shepav
    Posted August 10, 2009 at 4:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The comment above about the chihuahua cracked me up…

    What a steal! Those dress forms can get quite pricey! My vote for a name is Franny. Just a thought.

    And I love that skirt! You are looking great! It’s a slow process fitting into pre-preg clothes, but I can now fit into some skirts/pants… now onto the rest. I complain about the cooler weather we’ve been having, but I don’t know if my body could handle the temps you are used to dealing with…

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 11, 2009 at 2:35 am | Permalink | Reply

      Ooo I like the name Franny!

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted August 11, 2009 at 2:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks everyone!

  8. Posted August 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    tilda.

    that is the name i put forth.

    tilda.

  9. Tara
    Posted August 12, 2009 at 9:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like Frannie too! Or you could go completely cheeky with something like Lulu or Gigi.

    I know that with recipies, only 3 things have to be different for it to be considered “original” (at least in most recipe contests, books, etc.) Depending on how much you modified the sling, you may be able to get away with it 🙂

  10. Sarah
    Posted August 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Elizabeth! I’ve been following for some time now and have tried a lot of the tutorials and patterns you’ve listed for us but I would LOVE to see a tutorial for slings! You’re awesome at explaining things so clearly!!!! Hope to see one soon! =)

    ~Sarah

  11. Posted August 17, 2009 at 10:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    a SEWcial! i LOVE it. what a fun idea!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

