Thai Coconut Soup

A restaurant in town has this great Coconut Soup that a friend of mine introduced me to. She was on a mission to find how to make it at home and forwarded this recipe on to me as her success! The place in town adds rice to their soup so I added cooked basmati rice to this recipe.  It’s a very fresh and light soup, the lime juice and lemon grass add such a great fragrance while the coconut milk makes it luxuriously creamy. I used cremini mushrooms because they add more flavor than the presliced white button mushrooms. I also added more chicken stock than was called for and substituted garlic chili sauce for paste (which you can add more of if you want to turn up the spiciness). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and was very happy with the results! I’ll be making this again!

Recipe for Thai Chicken Coconut Soup (Tom Kha Gai)

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 10, 2009 at 10:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting…I’m not a huge coconut fan…I wonder if I would like this.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 10, 2009 at 10:16 am | Permalink | Reply

      You may – it has none of the coconut texture and the coconut flavoring is more creamy and savory than you usually find it. I’ll make it once we move and you can come over and try it. 🙂

  2. Posted August 14, 2009 at 10:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    thai coconut soup is my very favorite!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

