Two Months: Thoughts

I know I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, time is just flying by. Jude turned two months old yesterday so we did a little photo shoot. . . The photos below aren’t actually from the photo shoot, I’ll share those a little later because Jason is still editing them. Well, actually this first photo is from yesterday because I wanted a new picture with my two month old little boy (and my new haircut yay!) 🙂

We are working on getting our closing date on both houses and in the meanwhile, we’re packing up as much as we can and moving it into the garage. The house is starting to look sad and empty but soon enough we’ll be working on making the new house feel like home. I’m excited about some of the ideas that I have to try in this new house!

Jude is doing so well – he’s such a happy baby! I’ve loved seeing him develop and grow – he’s starting to make eye contact with us now and he will look at me and just give me the sweetest smile! It’s neat to see that he’s starting to recognize me and react to my smiles. He’s starting to get a bit more independent, he’ll hang out in his crib or swing for much longer periods of time and amuses himself by making baby noises. It’s so much fun to watch. It’s amazing I get anything done at all! He’s sleeping for longer stretches at a time now – four to five hours and then about three so we’ll slowly but surely starting to get more and more sleep. It’s also nice feeling like I’m capable to rejoin the human race and go out in public! I still have some fears about breastfeeding in public (even with a nursing cover) but it gets easier each time I do it. He’s also beginning to go longer between feedings which gives me freedom to go out for longer periods of time. And to top it all off, I know that it just gets better from here too.

I will say that it’s amazing how quickly things get easier with a baby. It was so difficult in the beginning – recovering from birth, learning how to breastfeed, trying to learn how to comfort the baby, wondering if you’ll ever have a full night sleep again or even just a few moments to yourself . . . there were moments where I really wondered what I got myself into. It is certainly a difficult life change to have a baby. But it is such an amazing reward to see this baby grow and smile, I wouldn’t trade any of the difficulties for what the payoff is!

In cloth diapering news, I LOVE the Bum Genius 3.0 diapers. We’re mastering the art of using them when out and about and I really feel like we’re saving so much money and reducing our trash output by using these. I also tried the Smarti Pants cloth diapers and I’m going to write up my review of them here soon, I just need to take some pictures to show the comparison between the two. We are going to try and enter Jude in the Smarti Pants baby picture contest. . . the winner receives a three pack of the cloth diapers! What do you think, is this a winning picture?

More pictures to follow!

7 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 2:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would be amazed if a picture of Jude didn’t win – he seriously is one of the cutest babies I’ve ever had the privilege of meeting!

  2. cooperella
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 2:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    he IS seriously adorable. Your haircut looks cute too, Beth! I can’t wait to see it in person!

  3. Stephani's Mom
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 9:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, Beth! What a darling you have! I commented to Steph how beautiful Jude was even when he was brand new. Those eyes … so glad you all are happy and healthy and getting a little more settled. Love to you!

  4. Stephani's Mom
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 9:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, Beth … what a darling you have! So glad you all are happy and healthy and getting a little more settled with Mr. Jude. Those eyes … take one’s breath away. Love to you!

  5. Posted August 17, 2009 at 9:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So precious! Definitely a winner! 🙂

  6. bendunson
    Posted August 18, 2009 at 7:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    Jude is gorgeous! Happy that you’re enjoying him so much!

  7. Posted August 19, 2009 at 1:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a handsome little fella – I’m sure you’ll win the picture contest… which is result in him winning numerous other photo contests, and then you’ll be rich and famous, and he’ll be able to pay for college himself by the time he’s 10.

    Wow… I have no idea where that train of thought came from… maybe I’ve been staring at the computer screen for too long. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

