BumGenius 3.0 vs. SmartiPants

So here is the discussion of these two brands of all-in-one, pocket cloth diapers that I’ve been using. I know there are other brands, but these are the ones I’ve tried so far. Now, I want to start off by saying I like both of these brands. They both have their advantages and drawbacks but they’re made well and work well overall. Both have great customer service and I especially like that they are both made in the USA!

Bum Genius 3.0 (BG)
SmartiPants (SP)
Discussion
must pull out insert after use insert comes out in wash I think my favorite advantage that SP has is that the inserts come out in the wash. No more digging around in a dirty diaper, just toss in the hamper!
smaller leg holes larger leg holes Jude doesn’t have super chunky thighs so this was a disadvantage because it is more likely to leak at the legs
smaller larger BG will fit sooner but SP may be more wearable for longer.
snaps to size insert
(plus newborn insert/doubler)
one size insert This may explain the cost difference. I like that BG has sizable inserts. The inserts in SP stick out in the smaller sizes.
pocket open on one side (back) pocket open on both sides It’s easier to get the insert in when the pocket is open on both sides.
3 front snaps 2 front snaps 3 snaps may be studier
snaps match diaper color snaps are white I like that you can’t really see the snaps as well on the BG diapers
velcro at waist snaps at waist Positives of the velcro: fits a bigger variety of waist sizes better. Negatives of the velcro: the biggest complain about BG is that the velcro wears out over time.
Positives of the snaps: doesn’t wear out and harder for children to undo Negatives of the snaps: You’re limited on waist size. This may be my biggest complaint about SP
discount when buying more max of 3 at a time $339 for a 20 pack of BG ($16.95 a piece)
$17.95 single $14.95 single Speaks for itself. SP is significantly cheaper.
$53.10 for 3 pack
($17.70 a piece)
$39.95 for 3 pack
($13.31 a piece)
Speaks for itself. SP is significantly cheaper.
widely available (ex. target.com and local stores) only on smartipants.com SP just came out
leaks out side/back leaks at leg holes This may just be because Jude is a ninja pee-er but he pees out the back of the BG at night and through the leg holes of the SP at night.
9 colors 7 colors Not a big deal for me, but maybe for others
available in organic/bamboo only one option of fabric Again, not a deal breaker for me, but this is really important to some people.The organics/bamboo BG are more expensive.
more bulky less bulky They’re pretty close but the SP are a little slimmer than the BG.
more reviews brand new product Everything I’ve read about both of these are fantastic but the BG have been around longer and have more reviews available. All the reviews of SP I’ve read have been fantastic though.

And now, a visual comparison:

BumGenius 3.0 Front and Back:

SmartiPants Front and Back:

Size comparison of diaper and inserts when unsnapped to largest size:

Snapped to size small comparison:

Snapped to size medium comparison:

Size large comparison:

Leg opening comparison:

8 Comments

  1. hohnstreiters
    Posted August 18, 2009 at 3:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Holy Cow! What a breakdown! I am so intrigued by these cloth diapers – especially how the insert just comes out when in the wash for the SmartiPants. I’ve only know the typical disposable ones and those white cloth rag looking thingys our parents use to wrap us up in.

  2. Posted August 18, 2009 at 3:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for posting your thoughts! I was waiting to see what you thought of the SmartiPants before I made my final decision on what I wanted. I think with all the rave reviews that I hear from people who have used the BumGenius, you almost can’t go wrong, even if the elastic does tend to wear out. Thankfully, we sew and can rig something up if that happens, right?!? 🙂

    I can’t wait to see little BHohns’ tooshie in these!! So cute!

  3. Posted August 19, 2009 at 10:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Great breakdown! My mom used cloth diapers on all of us – those rectangular white things fastened with safety pins. When I showed her these, she was like “those would have saved all the blood loss from sticking my fingers!” If we ever have kids, you can be sure I’ll be referencing this post!

  4. Posted August 20, 2009 at 6:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the review! I’ve been trying a lot of different brands of diapers lately. I’m using both the Bum Genius and the SmartiPants in my regular diaper rotation. While I like them both, I like the SmartiPants better for a few reasons:

    1. Insert comes out in the wash–this is HUGE, especially for my husband;). No more taking apart poopy diapers!
    2. The suedecloth on the inside of the pocket makes the SmartiPants sooo much easier to stuff.
    3. Snaps. I’ve always preferred snaps to velcro.
    4. Price. You just can’t beat it.

    I really don’t mind that they don’t come with a second insert. You can buy a 10-pack of extra inserts for less than $20. I only double-up on inserts at bed time, so that’s more than plenty.

    I’m actually doing some research right now about the kinds of diapers parents use and why. I’d love to include your and your readers opinions in my study. You can participate by taking my diaper survey here:

    http://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?formkey=cjVCME83a3hKZ1Vzb0t0VENSQVRjLUE6MA..

    Thanks In Advance!

  5. Posted September 6, 2009 at 7:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would add one further comparison – the elastic. This is what has been bugging me about the Smartipants. If it weren’t for the elastic, I would LOVE them. But the elastic leaves red marks on my little chunk (both leg and back of waist). She doesn’t seem uncomfortable, but when I see the marks, I feel bad. So I rarely grab for the SP, and only use them for a short time when I do. Otherwise, I think they’re pretty perfect. For now, I go for my BumGenius or my FuzziBunz.

  6. Posted September 22, 2009 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you SO much for this comparison! I knew we wanted to use pocket diapers for our baby boy (coming in February), and I had originally decided to use mainly BG 3.0s. BUT I read about the new Smartipants on Kellyscloset.com and have been wanting to see a comparison between these two diapers ever since! Very helpful, thank you!

  7. Posted October 28, 2009 at 5:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These are the EXACT two diapers I am currently considering for my up and coming twins! Thanks so much!! ~Cathy

  8. Posted February 3, 2010 at 9:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We really like our bumgenius and also thirsties diapers. Check out http://www.monkeybunz.com for your cloth diapers.

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] Check out the comparison here: https://elizabethcarroll.wordpress.com/2009/08/18/bumgenius-3-0-vs-smartipants/ […]

  2. […] } So since I did the Bum Genius 3.0 vs. SmartiPants comparison, I have tried out FuzziBunz One Size diapers. I thought it would be helpful to provide a similar […]

  3. By cloth diaper dilemma « think liz. on April 28, 2010 at 8:31 am

    […] There are so many reasons why I do it: health, environment, wallet, aesthetics. . . I have offered you comparisons on different brands that I have tried and now, I’m […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

