Marbled-Chocolate Banana Bread

Since we’re moving tomorrow, I’ve been trying to clean out my pantry. That resulted in a night of frantic baking to get rid of things like chocolate chips and eggs. . . I also didn’t want to go grocery shopping because I want my fridge to be as empty as possible so that lead me to baking up hamburger buns so we could enjoy our free swanson’s burgers and baking this banana bread so we would have something for breakfast in the mornings. Now, I don’t think this is a typical breakfast banana bread since it has a swirl of chocolate in it, but it sure is tasty. Not to mention the health factor because of the decrease of butter in this banana bread (as compared to this banana bread) that’s been mostly replaced with fat free yogurt (I didn’t use plain, I used vanilla because that’s what I had in the fridge). I would definitely recommend this recipe! It was a pleasant result of trying to use up items in my pantry!

Recipe for Marbled-Chocolate Banana Bread

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 20, 2009 at 10:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Such a timely post! I had a batch of over-ripe bananas of my own and decided to try this recipe. It turned out sooo good! Thanks for the tip. I’m always so inspired by your cooking and recipes.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 20, 2009 at 10:35 am | Permalink | Reply

      Over-ripe bananas are the best in banana bread! I always freeze them so I can make banana bread whenever I have time. I’m so glad this recipe turned out for you! I finished the last piece of mine this morning for breakfast. Yuuum!

      • Posted August 20, 2009 at 1:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks for the tip about freezing bananas, I never would have thought about that. I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed reading your blog over the past few months. In so many ways I feel like you are my long lost twin! Thanks for sharing your life through this blog – it serves as an encouragement to me in faith, raising a family, cooking, natural living, and crafting!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

