mom’s chocolate chip meringues

In my continued quest to empty out our pantry, I whipped up some of these chocolate chip meringues, literally! They helped me use up the rest of the chocolate chips and some more eggs! I took Smitten Kitchen’s advice and only used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup.

I think the thing I liked most about these cookies is that the insides were soft and full of the chocolate pieces while the outsides were a light, crunchy and melted in your mouth. I will never waste an egg white again. . . these will be made again and again!

I actually forgot to add the cream of tartar, intentionally left out the nuts and the cookies came out great. Not bad for a cookie with only five ingredients! And really, they tasted more like candies than cookies at all. 🙂

Recipe for mom’s chocolate chip meringues

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted August 20, 2009 at 8:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ooh these sound good! I saw on Rachel Ray last night that any time she has extra egg whites she labels a ziplock bag and puts them in the freezer to use in recipes or just to whip up an omelet later – what a great idea!

  2. Posted August 20, 2009 at 1:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Beth! I’m so impressed with all the baking you’ve done in the midst of a move while also loving on a two month old! It’s inspiring! 🙂

  3. shepav
    Posted August 20, 2009 at 1:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t believe you’re posting when you’re so close to moving! Good for you!

    But my goodness, these look good… my husband loves meringues!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

