7 Year Anniversary Jewelry

So, you might be familiar with the concept of each wedding anniversary having a fabric, metal and precious stone assigned to it. One of my best friend’s husband asked me to design some jewelry, working the items for their 7 year anniversary into the design. For year 7 the fabric is wool, the metal is copper and the precious stone is blue topaz (which also happens to be my friend’s birth stone).

I have always wanted to learn how to make felted wool beads but didn’t have the time this round to learn. So for the first set of jewelry I located some felted wool beads at a local bead shop, Bead It and made a chunky necklace and dangling earrings:

And after browsing around etsy for some nice copper pieces, I settled on some antique filigree copper leaves from softcover and headed to another local bead store, Legendary Beads. I looked for blue topaz in faceted rounds but they didn’t have any in an affordable price range so I decided swarovski beads were an acceptible trade off. I did something a little different than the traditional clasp. I put leaves on both ends of the necklace and set the it up so that you thread the chain through a jump ring (it slips over your head, so no need for a clasp) and you can adjust the length of the leaves so that they fall either really far apart, or closer together. I think they turned out nicely:


Props to the husband for coming up with such a creative idea to celebrate their anniversary!

11 Comments

  1. Posted August 27, 2009 at 10:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    You finished them…very nice!! I like what you were able to do with the felted balls. And I really like the leaf earring/necklace set…makes me wish I had the guts to wear larger earrings. (or earrings at all for that matter…ha ha!)

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 27, 2009 at 10:26 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, I finished them a couple weeks ago but couldn’t post about it since their anniversary was this past weekend! I used to not like to wear big earrings either but somewhere along the line that changed and now I love them!

  2. hohnstreiters
    Posted August 27, 2009 at 10:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    I really like the leaf jewelry…very cool!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 27, 2009 at 10:23 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you!

  3. Posted August 27, 2009 at 11:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    beautiful!

  4. Posted August 27, 2009 at 1:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Both pieces are gorgeous but the leaf necklace is AMAZING! You’re so talented! =)

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 27, 2009 at 3:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you! I’m having multiple requests from people to make this set for them – I’m going to have to order more of those leaves!

  5. Posted August 28, 2009 at 6:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Elizabeth, these pieces are lovely! I guess the creative juices just never end in the Carroll household, even with a babe and a move! 🙂 Is there a way to find out how you much you would charge? Is my email visible for you to see?

  6. cooperella
    Posted August 28, 2009 at 1:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The necklace with the leaves is lovely! I love the sliding jump ring as a clasp – brilliant!

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted August 28, 2009 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m thinking I may have to start making these leaf necklace sets to sell! I never expected to have the response that you guys are giving me! Thank you!

  8. charlotte333
    Posted August 31, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Do men like this really exist? Wow, what a romantic 🙂
    I love the jewelry!!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

