Kiwi-Lime Sorbet

I whipped up this sorbet the other day by merging a couple of recipes I’ve seen for kiwi sorbet. I really liked the way it turned out! The lime is a perfect compliment to the kiwi and the sorbet is very refreshing for these ridiculous dog-days of summer and it’s moderately healthy. I also just love the color and the flecks of black seeds. So pretty!

Kiwi-Lime Sorbet

2 pounds of kiwis (you can ripen them by placing them in a bag with a banana)
1/3 c of lime juice
1/2 c of sugar (more of less depending on the sweetness of the kiwis)

Peel the kiwis and coarsely chop. Place kiwi, sugar and lime in a food processor and puree until there are no chunks left. Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

5 Comments

  1. Posted August 31, 2009 at 8:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks so refreshing and summery, I wish it was still so hot here, although I’m really looking forward to autumn/fall too and the warming casseroles and pudding that go with that!

    I also wish I had an ice cream maker, although I think we’d eat lots and lots of ice cream if we did!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted August 31, 2009 at 9:02 am | Permalink | Reply

      Haha I share the opposite of your sentiments about summer! We finally had a break in the triple digit temperatures yesterday and everyone started talking about fall… enen though it’s still 95 out! I love fall foods too but it is certainly still summer here!! Hopefully it will cool off soon because I LOVE puddings and warm fruit desserts.

  2. hohnstreiters
    Posted August 31, 2009 at 9:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    Okay, I’m salivating…This will definitely be one of the first recipes I’ll attempt, once I snag an ice cream maker!

  3. Posted August 31, 2009 at 11:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so glad I got to try this. It was sooooo yummy!

  4. deezahoney
    Posted August 31, 2009 at 12:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, my – this looks delicious! We haven’t gotten our ice cream maker from where ever it ended up after K moved back from CS. I think I’ll need to find it – and quickly!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

