Simple Kid’s Sundress

A friend’s daughter turned four recently and I since I don’t get the opportunity to make fun little girls clothes for my child, I jump on the chance to sew up cute little dresses. I took advantage of Habitual’s Free Simple Sundress Pattern to create this cute little dress.

It was a quick little sew that I got done during one of Jude’s naps (thank goodness he takes long naps!). The hardest part was hemming the armscye (er. . . never heard that word before either? It’s really just the armhole). I struggled with getting the seams to fold on a curve but it ended up still looking cute. One of the things that stuck out to me in the tutorial was the attention to detail. The interior seams are french seams which lends itself to a nice finished look, even on the inside! I really like that the dress can become a shirt once the child outgrows the length of the dress. In all honesty, I kinda wanted to make this little dress into a shirt for myself it turned out so nicely – it looks like it’s from an upscale boutique. Hopefully this is the beginning of a lot of sewing in my new sewing room in the new house. 🙂

7 Comments

  1. Posted September 1, 2009 at 8:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s super cute!

  2. Krista
    Posted September 1, 2009 at 10:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the dress! It is too cute!

  3. Posted September 1, 2009 at 11:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Super cute. I’m going to add this to my free patterns list. It would definitely make a good woman’s top, too!

  4. Posted September 1, 2009 at 11:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    SO cute! I’m making this one for my daughter! Thank you for sharing!!!

    ~Sarah

  5. Posted September 2, 2009 at 11:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    I need to make this dress. I love it.

  6. habitual
    Posted September 3, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So glad you liked the pattern, it really is super-fast! 🙂

  7. amy
    Posted December 23, 2009 at 2:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I use old pants (kids) and turn it into a nice purse or craft pouch. A very easy pattern any beginer can do. All you do is cut the legs off of the pants and sew up the bottom of the pants all the way accross. Take a leg and cut them into strips that you can put together and sew. Flip right side out then attach to the pants up by the waist like a strap. Make 2 straps and then just add your zipper to close up the pants for security or you can add buttons to keep it closed. You can use the pocets to hold your glasses or cell phone. Use the inside to store all your other valuebles that you keep with you.

One Trackback

  1. By Baby Girl Sundress « Fabulously Classic on January 12, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    […] right a poem about the process for her to read later in life. I came across this great tutorial on Think Liz.  She’s got great free sewing tutorials of her own, as well as a whole slew of ones […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

