Espresso-Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

Jeez. The cookies are back. Again.

I know, I try to be good but it can only last so long, especially when I already have all of the ingredients for the cookies in the pantry. They must be baked. It’s fate! And not only are we back to cookies again, we’re back to a variation of shortbread cookies. Probably my favorite type of cookie because it can be so versatile – as is proved again by this recipe. I loved the coffee flavor with the tiny flecks of chocolate running through. Perfect with a cup of coffee or tea. Yum!

Now, there is a brilliance present in this recipe in how you cut the cookies into squares. You put the dough in a gallon sized freezer bag and press the cookie dough down to a 1/4″ thick. The bag makes it easy to get the dough into a rectangular shape without making a mess. Then into the fridge to chill. Once fully chilled, cut the bag off. Just genius if you ask me!

I used my quilting ruler to get the cookies to be perfect squares. I ended up with a little excess dough at the top, but that was ok with me. There are no eggs in the dough, so the excess went into my tummy. Yum.

And again, I adore my silpat. Get one if you don’t have one!

Recipe for Espresso-Chocolate Shortbread Cookies

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

