Eggs Benedict

So for labor day, I decided we needed a special breakfast. . . that and I didn’t have much in our fridge because I really needed to go grocery shopping. Lo and behold, I happened to have pretty much the right ingredients for eggs benedict. I mean, the majority of the recipe is eggs. . . and I had 4 of those. I did use bacon instead if Canadian bacon, and dried parsley instead of fresh, but you know, it was close enough!

I have always wanted to try my hand at eggs Benedict because it has two things involved that I’d never done before: poaching an egg and making a hollandaise sauce. Thankfully because of the clarity of the recipe I found, both first time ventures went off without a hitch!

I had always associated eggs Benedict with special occasion brunches but now I know it’s some I can create in my own home. Although, still only for special occasions because, dang! It’s not a healthy breakfast. But it’s certainly tasty!

Recipe for Eggs Benedict

2 Comments

  1. Posted September 14, 2009 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow – that looks delicious! I’ve never had Eggs Benedict before. Maybe I’ll try to make them for K’s birthday or something. I tried poaching eggs once – and it did not work out well. I didn’t put any vinegar in the water, though, so hopefully that hint will bring me to the success side of things.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 14, 2009 at 4:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

      The vinegar helped and I put each egg in a small bowl and gently slid the egg into the water by touching the lip of the bowl to the water. I think the least amount of jostling may be key for getting the egg to stay together!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

