Babies = More Sewing!

I got the opportunity to sew up a few more items in my new craft room for my friend’s baby shower that we hosted at my house this past weekend and I love the way the set turned out! It was pretty neat to see how far two yards of fabric went in baby items. The best thing? All the patterns I used are free!!

The first item that Frannie is modeling is the sling that you can find my tutorial on here. Every new mama needs one of these!

Second item? A nursing cover. I found out about this free tutorial on Jenn’s blog after she made one for me! I have used the cover so frequently that I know how helpful it is to have one of these handy! Since I didn’t have the width that was called for in the tutorial (the 2 yards had been cut in half for the sling), I sewed on a panel using french seams on the top to make the nursing cover the right size. I think this would also be neat to make the panel in a matching fabric but on the bottom – perhaps whatever fabric the sling interior is? The straps could be the same matching fabric too…

And of course, you have to have a bib and some burp rags! The burp rags didn’t come from a tutorial, I just sewed on a rectangle with the edges tucked under onto the middle of some cloth diaper prefolds.

Overall, a cute little baby/mama set for a baby shower!

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 15, 2009 at 11:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love this matching set!! Nicely done! I think the contrast band on the nursing cover would work well, too…especially if you are using the fabric like you did. I am sure the new mama loved it!

  2. Posted September 15, 2009 at 12:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It all looks great. I love the fabric choice!

  3. Posted September 15, 2009 at 10:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

