Creamy Garlic and Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

I can’t believe I haven’t shared this recipe with y’all yet! I made it so frequently for about a year and then kinda forgot about it. Hummus is my go-to dip and I have modified and merged several recipes to create my favorite version. I used to bring in to work to share with my co-workers and had many a request for the recipe, or just to bring them some to take home!

My mini food processor is perfect for things like this. It’s so much easier than using the huge one that I have (although I love that one too). I think the ingredient in hummus that most people are most unfamiliar with is tahini. It’s sesame seed paste – kinda like peanut butter but with sesame seeds. My HEB carries several different brands of tahini and I’ve used it in a couple other recipes besides hummus. It stores pretty well, so you don’t have to worry about it going bad in your pantry if you only use it every now and them.

I love the rich red color that this hummus turns because of the tomatoes. And it definitely gets better the next day. . . I think I’m going to go eat some now . . . 🙂

Creamy Garlic and Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

Ingredients
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup tahini (sesame-seed paste)
3 garlic cloves, peeled (or more if you’d like)
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 (15-ounce) cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
4 oz sun dried tomatoes in olive oil

Put all ingredients in the food processor and blend until creamy consistency is achieved. Add more olive oil or water as needed to achieve the desired consistency. Top with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of cumin.

11 Comments

  1. Posted September 17, 2009 at 10:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yum! That looks awesome! I love hummus but have to admit that I’ve never made it myself. Can’t wait to try this recipe – thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Posted September 18, 2009 at 11:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am so impressed with your picture taking abilities! 🙂

    And I love hummus, and this recipe looks so good! Gotta try it! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Posted September 19, 2009 at 5:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this sounds delicious! i will have to try it soon!

  4. Posted September 21, 2009 at 9:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am so glad you posted this recipe – that hummus was DELICIOUS! If I can just kick my Tom’s Tabouley Southwest Hummus obsession for a minute, perhaps I’ll give this one a try. YUM!

  5. rachaelbecker
    Posted September 27, 2009 at 4:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have been wanting to make hummus for awhile…thanks for posting this. I’m going to try to make it this week!

    Also, I like the new header on your page! It reminds me of Jazon Mraz’s last cd cover. 🙂 Did you draw the pictures yourself?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 27, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You’ll have to let me know if you try it and if you like it!

      I did draw the images in the header myself! I’m debating about coloring them digitally.I haven’t had time to try it out yet though… I got the idea from the cover of Damien Rice’s album ‘9’…

  6. rachaelbecker
    Posted September 27, 2009 at 4:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh yeah, what else do you use tahini in? Asian food? I’ve never heard of it before.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 27, 2009 at 4:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

      In a salad dressing, some Indian food and something else that I can’t remember…

  7. Rachael B
    Posted December 7, 2009 at 6:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So I finally tried the hummus! I made it on Thanksgiving break, and it was a hit with everyone who likes hummus sorts of foods. 🙂 I agree that it gets better the next day. I think if I made it again, I might leave out some of the sun dried tomatoes. I may have put too much in, but the flavor of these was a bit too strong for me. Overall though, it was some of the best hummus I’ve had!

    • Posted December 7, 2009 at 6:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Awesome! So glad you liked it! You could completely take out the sun dried tomatoes if you wanted! It would be yummy with roasted red peppers too!

  8. Posted April 21, 2010 at 8:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love this version of hummus! Looks so good!

One Trackback

  1. By Sesame Noodles with Chicken « think liz. on December 25, 2009 at 7:01 am

    […] than what you get at a take out restaurant. I used 1/4c tahini (sesame seed paste, also used in hummus) and 1/4c of peanut butter instead of 1/2c of only peanut butter. I like tahini a lot. Do save a […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

