Lemon Rosemary Chicken

This is another recipe I can’t believe I haven’t shared! It’s super cost effective and a easy, fail safe way to cook a whole chicken. And I have to say, I’m pretty impressed with my new found picture taking abilities (and thanks goes to Jason for teaching me how to use our camera):

I love that picture!

Anyways, this method involves sitting the chicken on a soda can half full with water (or a beer can and it can have beer in it if you’d like). The reason for cooking it this way is to allow the fat to drip down into the pan – making it fairly healthy, and also basting the white meat, making it less dry. The difficulty involved with cooking a whole chicken is that the dark meat cooks slower than the white meat… This rectifies that.

So yes, the recipe. Basically, you rinse the chicken, remove the innards (save to make stock), pat dry and set on a half full soda can. I zest two lemons, add a tablespoon of salt and 1/2 a tablespoon of dry Rosemary. Rub all over chicken. Sprinkle freshly cracked black pepper all over. You certainly could use whatever spice blend you want though. Roast at 425 until a meat thermometer reads 165 at the thigh – one to one and a half hours. Carve and serve. Save/freeze carcuss for making stock. Let rest for 10-15 minutes before removing from the can. I tip the chicken over and let the liquid from the can run out in the pan so it makes less of a mess on the cutting board.

I think this method rivals the rotisserie chickens you get at the grocery store and you only pay about $4 a chicken! Not a bad deal!

9 Comments

  1. Posted September 18, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Mmm, this looks yummy. Roasted chickens are always so pretty!

  2. Posted September 18, 2009 at 11:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have two whole chickens in our basement freezer ready to be eaten, but I can’t bring myself to cook them! When we first got married, I tried to cook a whole chicken, and let’s just say… it reminded me too much of a chicken. 🙂 Lance ended up having to eat the whole thing!

    On another meat related subject, we bought 1/8 of a cow, and remember reading that that you guys did too. Did you feel like that was enough? Too much? Just trying to gauge how much we should be expecting to pick up.

    • Posted September 18, 2009 at 12:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

      We ended up with more than 1/8 of a cow and still have some left over. The ground beef is long gone but was put to great use making the best burgers ever. We still have a lot of the less common cuts that we need to make into something.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 18, 2009 at 12:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah Jason gets weirded out at how much roasted a whole chicken still looks like a chicken. . . but it doesn’t bother me. 🙂

      We still have meat from buying the cow earlier this year! I need to start working through all of it. . .hmm . . .note to self: make some more beef based dishes. I felt like it was a pretty good amount of beef although I didn’t realize how little we actually eat beef! Like Jason said, the ground beef went really quickly. It’s the bigger cuts and steaks that have been harder to use since they make so much and I’m more unfamiliar with them. Make me want to get one of these so I can grind the rest up into ground beef!

  3. Rosie
    Posted September 18, 2009 at 11:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a great idea! Thanks for the tip!

    As ever, I love the blog. I don’t know how you have so much time to make it so fantastic!
    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

  4. Posted September 18, 2009 at 12:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great picture, babe…very very nice!

  5. Adriana
    Posted September 19, 2009 at 2:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hello, I just made this chicken today but with different spices. Thanks for the idea. It came out really moist! I had purchased a whole chicken on sale but hadn’t figured out what to do with it. Now after the carving, it’s becoming chicken soup.

    I found you through my sister’s blog. And I have enjoyed reading your blog. Keep it coming! 🙂

  6. hohnstreiters
    Posted September 20, 2009 at 1:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This chicken looks so tasty!…But I’m so intimidated to cook a whole bird. Ellie shared a recipe back in the day and it got me interested in tackling a recipe like this/that. Your picture alone stirs up that same motivation in me again. I LOVE it! It’s cute, yet funny looking 🙂

  7. Posted September 30, 2009 at 11:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    this tops all the meals you’ve made in my opinion. Absolutely wonderful and so so flavorful. Thank you beth!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

