Pudding Pie

I grew up loving pudding. As a treat, my mom would cook the pudding from the box and put it in the fridge right before she started making dinner. By the time we were done with dinner, pudding was waiting, just slightly warm in the middle. And I usually ate two bowls if not more…

It never really occured to me that you can make pudding without a box. Silly American, most things originated without the box! Turns out pudding is not so difficult to make without the box and the procedure is pretty much the same.

I did cheat and use a refridgerated crust because I ran out of flour and still don’t own a pastry blender. But this pudding… Oh my… It is rich and silky but not to sweet, making it feel like the grown up version of what I used to eat as a child.

And for those of you who wanted to know, I did eat a sliver of this pie for breakfast… And without a single bit of regret!

Recipe for Chocolate Pudding Pie

6 Comments

  1. Posted September 22, 2009 at 10:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    I was just looking in my pantry this morning thinking, “what in the world am I going to use this cornstarch for?” AND….K was craving a dessert yesterday, and I had nothing in-house. This will be perfect! 😀

  2. Posted September 22, 2009 at 3:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I want to just lick the whipped cream and chocolate shavings off the top. 🙂

  3. Posted September 22, 2009 at 5:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    If you took these pics, you are seriously rivaling your husband’s photography skills. You are awe-some. 🙂

    And secondly, this is the best recipe you have ever posted on here (well, besides the car bomb cupcakes, and the meringues, and… well, okay one of the best). I think this might be our date night dessert when Lance comes home (one piece for him, the rest for me – my reward for surviving two weeks with two kids, right?).

    And I didn’t know you could make pudding from scratch until a couple years ago either. Yikes.

    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 9:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ooo definitly a good date night dessert! And I’m kinda obsessed with this recipe, I’m thinking of making the pudding part again, just in bowls… Yuuuum!

      And thank you, I did take the pictures and have actually taken most of the recent pictures on here! Jason has been leaving me with the camera all day long now so I’ve forced myself to learn how to use it. I still have a long way to go on understanding how to use the settings, but I can manage with it now.

  4. Misty
    Posted September 27, 2009 at 12:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    I made this a few weeks ago after I saw it on Smitten Kitchen (by the way, thanks for turning me on to SK — I’ve made several of the recipes off of there and have some lamb marinating in my fridge right now based on a modified version of the recent lamb kabobs recipe). This pie was ridiculously delicious. I made it as a special treat for my hubby, because he loves chocolate pie. It worked out really well and was a nice surprise. And I love dark chocolate, so it was a great treat for me, too.

    Your dough looks a LOT prettier than mine turned out. Did you make your own?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 27, 2009 at 7:26 am | Permalink | Reply

      Nope I cheated and used the refridgerated dough… After struggling with making dough for the crust for the quiche for the baby shower I threw a couple weeks ago, I decided to wait to try and make dough again until I could use SK’s method… And i need a pastry cutter for that. 🙂

One Trackback

  1. By Chocolate Pudding Pie « Musings on December 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    […] Firefox and meandered to  thinkliz, one of my favorite blogs.  Lo and behold, she’d made a Pudding Pie in September…and I’d even bookmarked the recipe!  Convenient, […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

