Watermelon-Lime Agua Fresca

So Mindy had some leftover watermelon that needed a home and of course, I volunteered to take it! I originally had thought of making sorbet, but when it stopped raining and the temperatures spiked again I thought agua fresca.

You can use any melon to make an agua fresca since all it is simply pureed fruit, water and sugar. You can dress it up with a flavored simple syrup (like ginger or rosemary) or add seltzer water to make it fizzy. It’s easy, refreshing and delicious.

Recipe for Watermelon-Lime Agua Fresca

Pieces of one watermelon, pureed and strained
Equal amount of water (to watermelon juice)
Simple syrup, to taste
1/4 c lime juice

Mix and serve over ice.

22 Comments

  1. Posted September 23, 2009 at 10:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    Is this what you mean by “simple syrup”?

    http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/simple-syrup

    • Posted September 23, 2009 at 10:20 am | Permalink | Reply

      Yep, equal parts sugar and water, heated until the sugar dissolves. I always keep a jar of it in the fridge to add to tea, smoothies, etc!

  2. theprettyproject
    Posted September 23, 2009 at 11:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    THAT is what I call a recipe! Something that is quick, easy, and doable! 🙂

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  3. Posted September 23, 2009 at 11:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    that’s almost too simple, maybe a touch of mint?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 23, 2009 at 12:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I think the beauty of it is in its simplicity! I tend to be fond of ginger and watermelon together, so if you wanted to add a bit something else, maybe make a ginger syrup to replace the simple syrup!

  4. shutterboo
    Posted September 23, 2009 at 12:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was at a wedding this weekend and they had watermelon fresca at the bar. Add a splash of rum and you got yourself a sweet little cocktail.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 23, 2009 at 12:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Sounds delicious!

  5. Posted September 23, 2009 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That sounds soooo good!

  6. Posted September 23, 2009 at 1:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make simple syrup with Splenda?

    This sounds really good!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 23, 2009 at 1:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Yes. I think splenda may be the only artificial sweetener that will work in place of sugar to make a simple syrup since it’s made of sucralose. I’m not a big fan of splenda because it freaks me out abtut when things are chemically processed so I would probably go for agave nectar or stevia if I wasn’t using sugar! Although, if your watermelon (or other fruit) is sweet enough, you may not need sugar at all!

  7. Posted September 23, 2009 at 1:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    hmmm that’s a thought (that I may not even need sugar). Thanks for the tips! I’ll try it and then move to agave/stevia if I need some more sweetness! Thanks!!

  8. Posted September 23, 2009 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I did this with the peaches we got from the farmer’s market. It was so good.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted September 23, 2009 at 1:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ooo good call! I think Texas peaches may just be hitting the end of their growing season here. I think we may have some local pears in season at the markets now… I may have to try that out too!

  9. Mike
    Posted September 23, 2009 at 3:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Rum… that’s what I’m talking about! Nice suggestion.

  10. seo4less
    Posted September 23, 2009 at 4:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    wow simple recipe I must try this at home. maybe some mint would do and lil splash of alcohol would seem to make it a great adult drink lol.. thanks for the recipe

    SEO for LESS

  11. softballgirl78
    Posted September 23, 2009 at 4:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds so delicious especially on a hot day! So easy to make too. I’ll have to try it sometime. 🙂

  12. Posted September 23, 2009 at 6:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I might try this one day. Thanks for the recipe!

  13. Posted September 23, 2009 at 6:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    mmmmmmm! That looks so good!

  14. Gary Campbell
    Posted September 23, 2009 at 8:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Watermelon juice is great great without any syrup, but I will try it with the lime.

  15. jimmynorth
    Posted September 24, 2009 at 1:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hm, it looks tasty of course! but i prefer water-melon without anything else. Yammy!! certainly, i will try to do this cocktail (if i can say so). it is always interesting to try something new! Thanks!

  16. ckb
    Posted September 24, 2009 at 8:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yummy!!!!

4 Trackbacks

  1. By Watermelon-Lime Agua Fresca « Paneful's Blog on September 23, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    […] Watermelon-Lime Agua Fresca Leave a Comment […]

  2. […] } I was featured on the WordPress homepage today for my Watermelon-Lime Agua Fresca! Check it […]

  3. By Signature Cocktails « The Bridal Lounge on September 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    […] Elizabeth Carroll, Collin Cowie, Martha […]

  4. By Kiwi Pear Agua Fresca « Musings on October 7, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    […] simple and easy – plus I was thirsty.  I didn’t have any melons in the house, like Beth’s Agua Fresca post calls for, so I used 2 pears & 2 kiwi’s instead, and I also left out the lime […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

