Turkey Meatloaf with Mushrooms and Herbs, Mashed Potatoes and Glazed Root Vegetables

Bon Appetit did pretty great this issue with hitting on recipes I was actually going to cook! It must be something about the fall season or something.

This turkey meatloaf reminds me of thanksgiving. The cubes of bread remind me of stuffing, and the turkey mixed with mushrooms remind me of the full bird. It’s unlike most meatloaves I’ve ever had, most being slathered in a ketchup sauce of some kind. This one needed nothing of the sort to be delicious.

This was also my first time to prepare and eat turnips and rutabagas and they were surprisingly good! They reminded me moderately of cauliflower, both in taste and texture. The glaze was perfect, but I’m a sucker for a good honey butter glaze.

I did deviate a bit from the recipe: I rehydrated dried mushrooms, so I used that broth to soak the cubes bread instead of chicken broth; I used all one type of turkey because HEB had a value pak; I put some slices of bacon on the top that I wanted to use up; and I ended up making two meat loaves because I had 3 lbs of turkey, extra mushrooms and bread. It reheats very well, great in sandwiches!

Recipe for Meatloaf with Mushrooms and Herbs

Recipe for Glazed Root Vegetables

One Comment

  1. Posted September 28, 2009 at 9:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    I was looking at this recipe on Saturday trying to decide if I could make it this week but because of my schedule I didn’t think I was going to have a day when I had time to wait and hour or two for my meal to be finished! I’m glad you got to try it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

