Multigrain Penne with Hazelnut Pesto, Green Beans and Parmesan

This recipe honestly surprised me! I’ve tried similar recipes with parsley pesto and they always end up tasting too ‘green’ to me… Very hard to palate for an extended period of time. This recipe tasted fresh but didn’t have the grassy flavor I was expecting. I think the lemon zest gave it such a great kick! Since hazelnuts are so expensive, I substituted pecans and it tasted great. I think the only drawback was that this did not reheat well at all! No leftovers with this dish! Other than that, this is a great easy, weeknight, healthy dish!

Recipe for Multigrain Penne with Hazelnut Pesto, Green Beans and Parmesan Cheese

3 Comments

  1. Posted October 2, 2009 at 9:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    OMG! This is on my list for this week too! I didn’t get to it because I shopped at WalMart this week (had to get a new hairdryer) and they didn’t have Italian Parsley or hazelnuts, but I’m planning on making it next week. – do you think it might reheat better if the pasta and pesto were stored separately for the next day?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted October 2, 2009 at 5:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

      It may reheat better if the pasta and pesto were stored seperately. You’ll have to thin the pesto with some more water though so it’s not too clumpy…

  2. TheFatGirlBlogs
    Posted October 2, 2009 at 7:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That looks really good! And easy!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

