Phoebe Bag

I don’t want you guys to think I’m not sewing! I am! And I have some great projects that I’m going to be starting soon…. I mean, Christmas sewing is starting now!

I whipped up this little beauty as a gift for my mother-in-law’s birthday. The clarity of writing in this pattern is fantastic although I think it helps to have sewn a few purses already to understand where the steps are taking you. Best of all, this pattern is free from artsycraftybabe! Click here for the free PDF pattern for the Phoebe Bag.

I really like that this bag fits perfectly under your arm when you wear it on your shoulder and I think it’s a good medium sized purse, just perfect to carry what you need, but not big enough that things get lost. The thing I would do differently if I made this again… I think it might be nice to add a zipper to the opening in addition to the flap and magnetic snap. Overall a fun little sewing project! I hope she likes it!

6 Comments

  1. Posted October 5, 2009 at 8:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I printed this pattern off a while ago and hope to make it someday…yours looks great!

  2. Posted October 5, 2009 at 8:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Had this pattern on my “to-sew” list…I’m a sucker for under the arm purses (my kinda style)…but I think I’ll take your advice and try sewing more simple purses before tackling this one. Love the fabric you chose!

  3. Posted October 5, 2009 at 9:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is that purse I made at the last Sewcial…and have been carrying it ever since. It actually works in reality which is more than I can say for some other purse patterns I have tried out in the past. I would add a zippered pocket on the inside as a personal preference, but other than that, the magnetic snap/flap work really well to keep it closed. 🙂

  4. Posted October 5, 2009 at 11:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oooh I like it. I need to make myself a new purse.

  5. Posted October 5, 2009 at 3:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ohhh I love the fabric you used. I’m gonna try this pattern soon

  6. Posted November 24, 2009 at 8:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Your version is adorable! Good job 🙂

One Trackback

  1. By Phoebe Bag « The Hohnstreiter Ohana on December 10, 2009 at 9:48 am

    […] since it would only be my 2nd purse to sew.  Despite some advice I retained from a prior “Phoebe Bag Sewer“, I couldn’t resist any longer – I wanted a new purse! So I took the plunge and […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

