Peppery Pasta Carbonara with Poached Egg

When I was in Italy, one of my favorite dishes to get was Pasta Carbonara. If you’ve never had it before, you are missing out. It’s a delicious Italian version of bacon and eggs – the sauce is a rich mixture of cream, eggs, cheese, pancetta and parsley. It’s indulgent, to say the least.

I have tried several versions of pasta carbonara but never come up with a recipe that I loved. Then this recipe came along. It’s so simple but incredibly delicious. It’s not a true carbonara since the egg sits on top of the pasta in poached form and there’s so cream but that just doesn’t matter because once you cut into the egg, the yolk coats the pasta like this:

Yum. I did double the recipe without a problem (and I used whole wheat spaghetti) but I think this is a great dish for one. So, I am sharing with you another recipe that I will be repeating this week. It is indulgent but oh so delicious.

Recipe for Peppery Pasta Carbonara with Poached Egg

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 6, 2009 at 8:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    Never would of thought to couple a poached egg with pasta…Looks delicious!

  2. elliek
    Posted October 6, 2009 at 8:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    I never tried pasta carbonara and I must say, I’m not so sure about having bacon and eggs with my pasta…but if you say it’s good then maybe someday I’ll have to try it!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted October 6, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

      Oh it’s better than good! It’s amazing! One of the best parts is that the ingredients are so simple – I pretty much always have them on hand.

  3. Posted October 7, 2009 at 1:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love Carbonara too, but a traditional carbonara doesn’t contain any cream at all – it’s still not exactly low fat though! The creamy texture comes from just adding the egg right at the end so it doesn’t over cook, the egg cooks in the heat of the pasta.

    I love the idea of this variation though with the poached egg. I also like a small handful of peas mixed through my carbonara – maybe that’s a British thing or just something we did by accident once and it worked out quite well!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

