Tiramisu Cake

First off all, happy birthday Jason. I love you and hope that today is a lovely day for you!

That being said, we celebrated with several friends this weekend and I made two cakes. I had to convince myself out of making three cakes… I know, I’m crazy. Two cakes was way more than enough, but necessary, for birthday boy reasons, you know? When I saw this tiramisu cake on Smitten Kitchen’s website I knew I had to make it! Tiramisu has been our dessert for years. We searched out different restaurants to try it at, I’ve made it at home many times… So of course the cake version had to be made!

The batter was delicious; it was reminiscent of cookie dough and baked up level, light and fluffy – similar to the traditionally used ladies fingers. I froze the two layers so I wouldn’t be stressed trying to get two cakes baked and frosted and it froze beautifully and defrosted great. That’s the best thing about cake. You can make it ahead of time and freeze – then it’s easier to frost when you’re ready too. Less crumbs to deal with in the icing…

The espresso syrup was perfect, the frosting even better. And it was so much easier than traditional tiramisu. Not to mention prettier and easier to serve! I’m pretty sure this cake with be a go to dessert for me when I need to make an Italian dessert for many people.

And this dessert is one that even gets better after a couple of days – perfect for breakfast after a party!

Recipe for Tiramisu Cake

6 Comments

  1. lailablogs
    Posted October 12, 2009 at 7:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks delicious ..
    Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  2. Rosie
    Posted October 12, 2009 at 8:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous! Tiramisu cake is one of those things I’ve looked forward to making and never quite got round to. I’ll think up an excuse!
    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

  3. Posted October 12, 2009 at 9:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks babe!

  4. Posted October 12, 2009 at 11:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    I didn’t get to try this one, but it looked beautiful!

  5. deezahoney
    Posted October 12, 2009 at 4:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those look incredible!

  6. Steve
    Posted June 8, 2010 at 6:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve recently discovered that Tiramisu mean ‘pick me up’ and boy does this recipe do just that…what a great birthday cake idea…I would have never even thought of it. I’ve been too afraid to venture away from Victoria Sponge and Chocolate cakes! I’ve rediscovered my love for Tiramisu and have a found another great Tiramisu Recipe for a dinner party I’m hosting next week…thank you Liz, for the baking inspiration!:)

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] chocolate layer cake and Tiramisu cake from Smitten Kitchen, via Elizabeth, You Were Born to Play That Part Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) […]

  2. […] birthday. I mean he used to be a reese’s peanut butter cup addict! Instead I made these two and saved this one to make for a future date, which happened to be last night for our community […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

