Another Nursing Cover

I know, I make a lot of these. It’s hard not too. It’s one of the baby items I use most often, it’s easy to make (perfect for the first time sewer), there’s a free tutorial and it’s a great gift. Well, check this out. Target has a nursing cover in the Amy Butler Geisha Fans fabric that my friend happened to register for. Can you believe they sell those for $40? And it looks a bit too small in my opinion. Not so with the free tutorial! I happened to have a yard of the fabric already so I whipped one of those up as a baby shower gift.

Love that fabric and love enabling moms to feel comfortable to nurse in public!

11 Comments

  1. Posted October 13, 2009 at 8:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have noticed so many things available in stores now in some of the designer fabrics that can be made for so much less. It is sad that we think we have to pay that much for something that in actuality doesn’t cost 1/4 of the price to make.

  2. Posted October 13, 2009 at 9:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is so cool!

  3. Posted October 13, 2009 at 11:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love that fabric! Crazy who Target has one in the same fabric!

  4. Posted October 13, 2009 at 3:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree – the nursing cover is essential for the breastfeeding mom! My only problem is that most of my clothes require me to lift up my shirt and expose my stomach while breastfeeding. Baby and the cover usually cover the front, but my side or back is still exposed. Any tips on dealing with this?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted October 13, 2009 at 4:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Yep! I use a nursing tank top instead of a nursing bra a lot of the time. That way when you’re pulling up your top to nurse, your side and back stay covered!

  5. Posted October 13, 2009 at 8:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    with my last baby i got one of these nursing covers. i was so excited because i didn’t have to go to the back room at my in-laws to breastfeed anymore. turns out we got thrush and i had to stop feeding after 2 months! it was so disappointing! and i was disappointed i couldn’t put my nursing cover to good use!

  6. charlotte333
    Posted October 13, 2009 at 9:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is so gorgeous! I always love the fabrics you find.

  7. Shelly
    Posted December 25, 2009 at 7:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve made a couple of nursing covers, admittedly from different tutorials, but the area where the boning is always flops down. This eliminates the whole “being able to see baby” benefit. Have you had any problems with this? Any ideas?

    • Posted December 27, 2009 at 9:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I haven’t had any problems with this with the free pattern I’ve been following. I think the length of the boning, the positioning of the straps and how snug the boning fits in the opening probably all contribute to the ‘floppiness’ of the boning. . . .

      • Posted December 28, 2009 at 8:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Good to know – I’ll definitely use this tutorial in the future. What size boning do you use? I couldn’t find any specification in the tutorial.

        • Elizabeth
          Posted December 29, 2009 at 5:21 am | Permalink

          I didn’t realize that there were different sizes of boning! I’ve just bought the fabric covered boning. Not sure what the size was. Maybe 1/4″?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

