double chocolate layer cake

So cake number two HAD to be chocolate! I made the variation with the rasberry filling and it was delicious. And the leftovers got better each day.

The road to delicious was a little rocky though. First of all I learned never to use all of the batter in pans that are too small. The recipe calls for 10″ pans; I had 9″. This resulted in an overflow to the bottom of my oven. Bummer. The cake still turned out fine. Following some of Smitten Kitchen’s cake tips, I froze the two layers before I sliced them in half. This made slicing the layers nearly impossible. Next time I’ll cool, slice and THEN freeze.

Turns out ganache covered all of my cake sins but I ended up needing the whole batch of ganache instead of the half called for if you make rasberry filling.

I learned a lot from this cake experience and I’ll be trying again soon! Hopefully the next one will go a little smoother…

Recipe for Double Chocolate Layer Cake

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 14, 2009 at 11:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    This cake was so good! I don’t normally like ‘fruit’ with my chocolate but I loved this cake!

  2. lilactreecreations
    Posted November 2, 2009 at 4:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    yumm.. thanks for the recipe

One Trackback

  1. […] Double chocolate layer cake and Tiramisu cake from Smitten Kitchen, via Elizabeth, You Were Born to Play That Part […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

