Book Club:: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

This month’s book club book was The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I wasn’t really sure what to expect with this book since it billed itself as a murder mystery type thriller set in Sweden. And honestly, I didn’t like the first couple chapters – I couldn’t figure out what was going on! So obviously, it didn’t hook me right off the bat. I had heard from others that the book was fantastic so I pushed on. After several more chapters I was hooked! A very suspenseful, complex, well written storyline unfolds the further you go through the book.

Since it was translated into English from Swedish, there were sometimes moments that I felt like things were lost in translation between our cultures. Also worth noting is that there was a significant amount of promiscuity and violence. Sadly, the author passed away after all three books in this trilogy were completed. The second book, The Girl Who Played with Fire was released recently this past July and I think I’m going to have to seek that one out to tie up some loose ends that were created in the first book. The third book, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest will be out this next summer. All in all, a good read. 8/10

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

