Four Months

I know I probably start out every baby update post with this, but it really is true. I can’t believe he’s four months already. It is unreal how quickly time is going. Jude is changing so much everyday – he’s 17 pounds now and he just keeps getting bigger every day. He is so much fun to be around and loves to flirt with the ladies. . . although in general he just loves people. He is a social butterfly like his dad. 🙂 He has started rolling over but only when he feels like it, which seems to be when his dragonfly toy is around! He is sleeping through the night most nights and let me tell you, I am grateful. In the beginning, when I was waking up every couple hours or so, it felt like it would never end (kinda like pregnancy never felt like it would end). Really, I know I have nothing to complain about, because he actually slept at night and just woke up to eat. . . but I am glad to be sleeping for longer stretches of time now.

Nursing is still going well and I’m planning on continuing it until he reaches a year. I did end up having a little bit of a let down earlier this month. Remember me telling you about the milk bank donations? It turns out that they did the blood test on me and I have one out of five proteins that make up Hepatitis C. I don’t have Hepatitis C but they won’t accept my milk donations until my next baby even if it is just a lab error (which it most likely is). That was really disappointing for me, but I still encourage you all to do it if you can!

I’ve been reading Super Baby Food (thanks for the recommendations on this book) and we’re going to start solids once he’s six months. I’m so excited about getting to make his baby food in a couple months!

It’s interesting how much a baby changes your relationship with your spouse in ways that you didn’t anticipate. I love watching Jason with Jude and see them interact as father and son. Something I didn’t quite expect was to feel jealousy of Jason’s ability to go where he wants when he wants. It’s something I’ve been working through and talking with Jason about this month. I’m realizing how necessary it is to schedule time when Jason (or someone) can watch Jude so that I can have some time to do things I enjoy. I find that I have moments of meltdown if I don’t get breaks here and there. Thankfully Jason is amazing and recognizes this, so he helps me make sure that I do have some time to myself each week. It just was something I felt a bit embarrassed about and didn’t expect to encounter!

I am loving staying home with him although I thought I would have more free time by not working. . . turns out that is not true at all. I am so busy with so many different things! Two big things that are coming up are the opening of my etsy shop and our kitchen renovation. I’ll keep everyone posted on both. My blog postings may be a bit spotty since the kitchen renovation is promising to take up ample amounts of my time for awhile.

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 16, 2009 at 9:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the update. He is so adorable!! I’m glad to hear things are going so well. 🙂

  2. Posted October 19, 2009 at 1:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i totally relate to you on so many levels in this post! one, especially since you mentioned it last, is the ability to be free and *go places* .. this weekend, my husband is treating me to a weekend free of kids! i’m so excited, but also a little sad because all three of my boys will be away from me for a long three days. i feel so blessed to have a husband who tries to understand where i’m coming from mentally, spiritually and relationally (especially since i don’t think he’ll be making a trip away any time soon after the third babe is born next month!).

    and yes- they do grow fast! so beautiful to see, and also a bit hard 🙂

  3. sharon
    Posted October 20, 2009 at 8:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    If I’ve ever forgotten to mention it, until I land a job, I am always willing to watch Jude so you can have time to do things alone or with Jason. You aren’t that far and I would love to visit with you but really, spend time with Jude. I can’t help it…he’s so contagiously happy.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted October 20, 2009 at 11:12 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Sharon!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

