Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake

Can you tell I was on a cake kick?

This is the third cake I was tempted to make for Jason’s birthday. I mean he used to be a reese’s peanut butter cup addict! Instead I made these two and saved this one to make for a future date, which happened to be last night for our community group. We are still without an oven (update on the kitchen soon to come), so Jenn offered to let me use hers to bake up this beauty.

I didn’t even know you could make chocolate peanut butter ganache/glaze… Yum. And these are my favorite cakes to decorate because glazes look beautiful without any effort or cake decorating skills at all. I did take Smitten’s recommendations for doing a crumb coat and sticking it in the fridge, doing the final outer coat, sticking it in the fridge, then doing the glaze. I would recommend using the glaze when it’s still warm as my glaze drips were a bit gloppy since the glaze was at room temperature and it firmed up pretty quickly when it touched the cold frosting. Still delicious though. Delicious and decadent. Serve in thin slices and with milk!

Recipe for Sour Cream-Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting and Chocolate-Peanut Butter Glaze

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted October 28, 2009 at 12:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this looks ridiculous!

  2. Posted October 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    My husband would go nuts over this cake! His favorite combination – Chocolate and PB!

  3. Posted October 28, 2009 at 8:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I made this cake for a dinner party a few months ago. It is one of the best things I have ever eaten! Everyone loved it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

