Snickerdoodles

This recipe is actually from awhile ago when I was still on my cookie craze. The pictures were taken on a different memory card about a month ago and then forgotten about until this past weekend! So I can finally offer up to you a non chocolate cookie! Essentially just a sugar cookie rolled in cinnamon and sugar, snikerdoodles are one of my favorite cookies (behind shortbread in the non-chocolate realm of cookies).

This recipe was really easy to throw together. The time consuming part is just rolling each cookie ball in the cinnamon/sugar mixture. But it’s all worth it in the end.

This particular batch of cookies didn’t stick around our house long – I packaged them up and shipped them off to a church meeting. Can’t have cookies sitting around our house just begging to be eaten anymore. I bake them up, eat a couple and get rid of the rest!

These are definitely great holiday cookies, the cinnamon and sugar just remind me of baking with my mom growing up. We always made tons and tons of cookies and breads around the holidays to give out to friends, neighbors and family. Enjoy!

Recipe for Snickerdoodles

6 Comments

  1. Posted November 5, 2009 at 1:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jeremy loves snickerdoodles…he’s always asking me to make them. I think they’re ok if I’m drinking coffee but other than that, I’m not a huge fan of the sugar cookie family…that’s ok, there are plenty of chocolate cookies out there for me!

    • Posted November 5, 2009 at 3:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’m with Ellie, but possible to more of an extreme… A cookie is nay a cookie lest it be chocolate chip.

  2. Posted November 5, 2009 at 4:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    If you ever want to experiment with Snickerdoodles I have made lemon Snickerdoodles before. Just add in the zest one or two lemons and a teaspoon of lemon extract. It’s subtle, but I really like it!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 6, 2009 at 5:30 am | Permalink | Reply

      That sounds really delicious! Thanks for the hint!

  3. Posted November 6, 2009 at 1:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    When can you bring some of those by? 🙂
    -r

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 6, 2009 at 5:31 am | Permalink | Reply

      Well, now that we have an oven, maybe sometime soon! I do want to bring something non-chocolate by the office at some point…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

