It’s Been Awhile…

Ah it’s been too long since I’ve written about trying to healthify my beauty routine. It hasn’t stopped, just hasn’t been written about in awhile. I have recently tried out several beauty products worth either warning you away from or recommending to try out! Now the objective here is to find cheap but well made products that do not contain scary chemicals. See these posts if you want more info on why I’m doing this.

Poo-pourri – So I struggle a lot with those plug in deodorizers or with sprays that make things smell better. It freaks me out that we put chemicals in the air that we are breathing in! And since we moved, our toilet is in the same room as our shower and sinks so we had to find something to . . . well . . . you know. So I did some research and came up with Poo-pourri. Yes the name is ridiculous but it’s all natural and it works. Some people are concerned with the size that you get but I am finding that the little bottle is lasting a long time. I do have a couple experiments coming up with trying to make my own reed diffusers . . . we’ll see how that goes!

Physicians Formula Organics – I have most recently tried out the mascara and eye shadows from this company, and if you’re lucky, you can try the mascara for free with a mail in rebate! I tried Honeybee Gardens mascara and honestly didn’t like it at all. I felt like it didn’t do what mascara was supposed to do! I think I’ll be buying this one again! The eyeshadow is nice too – it’s not overwhelmingly shimmery and is paired up to accent specific eye colors. I got the brown/tan one for hazel eyes and the two shades of purple for green eyes. I’m happy with both.

Avalon Organics Shampoo/Conditioner – Not too pleased with this stuff. The peppermint smell is great but it leaves my hair feeling a little greasy. I only bought this one because it was on sale. . . won’t be doing it again.

JasonShampoo and Toothpaste – I really like this brand. The eucalyptus shampoo is fantastic – I love the way it smells and that it’s not distinctly masculine or feminine. Jason and I both use it. Good price too, around $6-7 a bottle. The Seafresh toothpaste is awesome. It’s the only one I can get Jason (the husband, not the brand) to use. 🙂

Toms of MaineDental Floss and Mouthwash – I tried the toothpaste but had a hard time with the taste. The dental floss . . . also disappointing. It frays and is very difficult to get between your teeth. I’m on the lookout for something else that will work well. The mouthwash, on the other hand, is fantastic. Although the plastic bottle broke and I had to transfer the remaining mouthwash to a plastic water bottle. Sad.

Biokleen Bac-Out – I use this stuff to spray on Jude’s cloth diapers to keep them from being stinky and to remove any staining but it also works great on the carpet or anywhere that get’s stained. It uses all natural lime enzymes instead of harsh bleaches to clean and disinfect. I’ve really liked this product and at $10 for a huge spray bottle, I feel like it’s a great deal!

Kiss My FaceShaving Cream and Moisturizer – Love both of these! Jason mainly uses the shaving cream, but I’ve used it a couple times and really liked it. I use the moisturizer on my face and body and really like it. It’s light and clean and doesn’t have a fragrance, which I like. Now I just need to find an after shave for Jason that isn’t chemical laden. . . this one is proving to be difficult. Suggestions?

Dr Bronner’s Baby Mild Soap – Although the ramblings on the label of the bottle kinda freak me out, I really like this product. I use the liquid castille soap and it leaves me smelling and feeling clean. It works well for cleaning my face too. It’s very cost effective if you buy the big bottles of it – I just refill a small pump container in my shower from the big bottle periodically. Good stuff. I found it cheapest sold in two packs on amazon.com.

Homemade Deodorant – I am still using it and still love it, although I’m planning on trying Amanda’s version as soon as I run out.

I’d love to hear about any inexpensive ‘green’, ‘healthy’ products that you’ve tried and liked or disliked. Please share your experiences!

10 Comments

  1. sharon
    Posted November 10, 2009 at 12:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m happy you posted your faves. I have to admit that I will pay more for my products and food, just because healthy does tend to cost more and I look for quality, processing, and local. But, I too look for the less expensive route first.
    Jeb loves Alba Cocoa Butter Hawaiian lotion($8),I love Better Botanicals Aryuveda line.

    Deodorant:I used this deodorant in the past and loved it because you apply a thin layer and don’t have to mess with it for days. Unfortunately, I threw away the container. I will research it but it can be found in any health store in a black container.But, I’ve been using Tom’s long lasting care. For me it is fine because I don’t really have bad bo but for most it may not be a good idea.

    For my hair: I use Mill Creeks Botanical. The Amazon collection is really nice. I’ve gotten fabulous results using the Volumizing Conditioner, for my curls.

    For my facial cleanser: I use a really expensive product, Lluvia Botanical Facial Cleanser. It doesn’t strip my skin and I never break out or feel dry.

    Mascara/Liquied Liner: Dr. Hauschka

    Lips: W3ll People here in Austin

    Foundation/Makeup: Bare Escentuals

    Burt’s Bees lip balm. It is awesome!

    I too use Dr. Bronner’s soaps and love them. At SunHarvest on S. Lamar you can take your bottles in and refill it from the huge pump.
    I don’t like the Seventh Generation Dishwashing gel. It doesn’t get all the dishes clean.

    If I think of anything for you or Jason I will email you. Burt’s has a men’s line.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 10, 2009 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I didn’t like seventh generation dishwasher soap either. I like the method tablets or Mrs. Meyers. They both seem to work well!

      I do need too revist Burts Bees for jason’s aftershave. They’re owned by clorox now which I kinda have mixed feelings about… I do like their baby wash and lotion as well as their chapstick.

  2. sharon
    Posted November 10, 2009 at 1:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    check out this website:
    http://www.care2.com/

  3. Posted November 10, 2009 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi there!

    I cant help but put in my two cents on make-up. I am IN LOVE with Alima Pure makeup. Its inexpensive, doesnt have any harmful components (and I researched it a TON) and looks awesome. All mineral makeup and comes in all green packaging…you can even send your bottles back to be refilled. Check it out!
    http://www.alimapure.com

    Blessings and happy healthy living!
    Jen

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 10, 2009 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you – I will check them out!

      I’ve been using a local-to-me mineral make up called Everyday Minerals. I’ve been happy with them so far but I still like to peruse other brands!

  4. elliek
    Posted November 10, 2009 at 1:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve used Physician’s Formula for a long time – the eye shadow, the blush, and the eye make-up remover.

    Jason – I’ve used the shampoo and liked it. We have the face wash and my only complaint is that every time it stings my eyes so I always have to wash my face then make sure I have a towel close by to make sure I get it away from my eyes – you don’t even have to get it in yours – it always stings! Once we get through the bottle I probably won’t buy it again. Jeremy and I both tried the deodorant – Jeremy loves it and it last a long time. It didn’t work for me – won’t last all day. We haven’t tried the toothpaste, but we liked the Toms.

    Kiss My Face – I bought the shaving cream one week and am saving it for when I run out of what I’m currently using!

    I’ve slowly started to purchase Alba’s line of facial cleansers and such – I have the oil-free moisturizer and I use it at night and I really like it.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 10, 2009 at 1:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I apparently need to try the alba line! Thanks for the recommendations!

  5. Posted November 11, 2009 at 6:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    Can I first say that thank you a million times over for the poo-pouri? And after purusing the site, I saw a product called “trap a crap”? Hahahah… at least they tried to be catchy. 🙂

    I’m loving all of the suggestions here! I love Biokleen bac-out too.

    Not a fan at all of the Avalon Organics. I also bought it on sale, and couldn’t stand the stuff. I am a huge fan of Burts Bees, but maybe I should branch out a little more.

    I am in love with the Desert Essence facial scrub and moisturizer. Nothing else works as well on my face as these products.

    Need to work on making my makeup (the little I wear) a little greener. I’ll definitely have to check out all of these suggestions.

    ps. Glad you’re back!

  6. michele
    Posted November 12, 2009 at 8:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    A book I keep coming back to time and time again is Pratima Raichur’s “Absolute Beauty – Radiant Skin and Inner Harmony Through the Ancient Secrets of Ayurveda”. If you are interested in making your own natural skincare products that are catered for your particular skin type, or in general taking the best care of yourself possible, please check out this book.

  7. Posted November 14, 2009 at 2:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    “Although the ramblings on the label of the bottle kinda freak me out…”
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
    Definitely been THERE with the miraculously never-ending ginormous bottle of “all one” whatever whatever soap. Except in my case I didn’t like it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

