Grand Marnier Crème Brûlée

And so begins the crème brûlée craze. This is one of four (potential) crème brûlée recipes you’re going to see here. The reason, you ask? Well, our friend Anika has been staying with us for awhile but soon she will be headed off to Florida. She has a culinary torch. I do not. We are celebrating her departure with much crème brûlée, all different variations of it! This was the first recipe we tried and it was certainly a success.

I didn’t actually do anything on this recipe, but it’s so delicious that I have to share it. In all honesty, custards make me nervous. I don’t know why since little in the culinary world is daunting (if I screw it up, there’s always another recipe and next time!), but custards make me nervous. So I commit that I will actually make at least one of the four recipes I will be sharing in the upcoming days. If there ends up only being three recipes on here, it’s because I screwed one of them up. Anika is a custard genius, so the first two recipes were all her. And my amazing new convection oven. 🙂

We used Cointreau instead of Grand Marnier because my parents left some here the last time they came to visit and I love the taste that it added to the silky smooth custard. We were all kind of surprised that you could still taste the alcohol lingering in the custard. We figured that would bake off! But it wasn’t a bad thing at all, just a surprise. For the sugar topping Anika used a mix of brown sugar, turbinado sugar and unbleached sugar for the topping. Make sure you don’t put too much on there because you want just enough to melt into a beautiful sheet of melted goodness. I mean the best part really is cracking the sugar shell, am I right?

So there you have it, the most traditional crème brûlée recipe you are going to see here. It’s just gets more interesting from here on out though . . . stay tuned!

Recipe for Grand Marnier Crème Brûlée

3 Comments

  1. Posted November 11, 2009 at 9:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yay!! I am glad you finally took the plunge…I told you custards weren’t hard! 🙂 Looks yummy…and I can’t wait to see what other recipes you post since CB is my all time favorite dessert. Made it last month a few times when the “cravings” hit and now I just might have to make some more due to your inspiration. 🙂

  2. Posted November 11, 2009 at 11:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    Great – I love creme brulee, although I’ve never tried to make it myelf – I’m with you on the custart front! Maybe with 4 recipes I’ll be inspired to try one out. I’m glad you’re putting your new oven to good use, the pictures of the kitchen look great.
    Jade

  3. elliek
    Posted November 11, 2009 at 12:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This was absolutely fabulous – and I have to disagree the best part was not cracking open the sugar shell (although quite exciting) – the best part was eating up all the yumminess under the shell!

One Trackback

  1. […] Ice Cream 2009 December 7 by Elizabeth Since I recently got over my fear of custards, I decided I would try out an ice cream recipe. And with all this pie and dessert that’s […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

