Cappuccino Crème Brûlée

Crème Brûlée number two… Introducing espresso powder to the mix. It was a nice addition. It added a nice coffee flavor but still tasted like creme brûlée.

At this point we had run out of the shallow bowls so we decided to do this one family style, in a pie dish! I think this would work well for a dinner party if you don’t have enough ramekins… Just serve a scoop in a bowl with a dollop of cream or something.

I would recommend straining the mixture before baking in the water bath because we had a layer of nutmeg and cinnamon at the bottom of our pie dish. It added a bit of a weird texture to an otherwise silky custard. And again, we used a mixture of sugars for the topping.

Definitly delicious and definitly worth trying!

Recipe for Cappuccino Crème Brûlée

One Comment

  1. Posted November 12, 2009 at 10:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    This one sounds amazing!

One Trackback

  1. […] Ice Cream 2009 December 7 by Elizabeth Since I recently got over my fear of custards, I decided I would try out an ice cream recipe. And with all this pie and dessert […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

