Chocolate-Ancho Crème Brûlée

Crème brûlée nombre trois. You guys know I can’t resist adding chocolate to everything, so in an attempted to chocolate-ize crème brûlée, we tried out this recipe.

Mmm looks like pudding. I should make some pudding this week . . . hm. Anyways. This version was delicious but didn’t quite seem like crème brûlée. Something about adding chocolate to the custard made it that way. Maybe it was more of a pot de crème but it didn’t really feel like a crème brûlée.

It was delicious enough to make though, don’t get me wrong! The amount of sugar may not seem like enough but it was the perfect amount of sweetness without being overpowering. The ancho didn’t lend a spiciness as much as a smoky sort of earthiness. It was a nice complement to the chocolate flavor.

I would recommend leaving out the cinnamon in the sugar topping. It burned when it was getting torched and although it tasted good, it didn’t look so great. Let the cinnamon flavor only come from the custard and I think you’ll be in good shape.

And I must say, all of this crème brûlée is certainly getting me over my fear of custards! One more to come. . . stay tuned!

Recipe for Chocolate-Ancho Crème Brûlée

One Comment

  1. Posted November 16, 2009 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the whole chocolate-ancho thing!

One Trackback

  1. […] Ice Cream 2009 December 7 by Elizabeth Since I recently got over my fear of custards, I decided I would try out an ice cream recipe. And with all this pie and dessert […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

