mY Generation

So a couple weeks ago, we had the pleasure of having Josh Riebock, the author of the book mY Generation, come and speak at our church. He is an engaging speaker but more importantly, the purpose of his message is clear. He wants to share Jesus’ love with people and take part in their stories. In all honesty, I’m weary of reading Christian books. Often it’s ‘five steps to this’ or ‘make your life better that’ and it seems hollow and empty, like it’s missing the mark of authenticity. I set aside my typical feelings and started reading Josh’s book:

“Reaching a broken generation with the hope of the gospel. Generation Y is the generation of tattoos, cell phones, social networking, and iPods. It is the generation of authenticity, social justice, racial diversity, and community. But it is also the generation of broken homes, school shootings, immense performance pressure, loneliness, self-indulgence, and insecurity. Christians have largely failed to bring restoration to this 70 million-member group of young people.”

I think my favorite part about this book is that it was not preachy – it told real stories that didn’t always have happy endings, or churchy endings. They are honest and heartfelt and deal with people’s true reactions to Jesus. If I am honest with myself, I recognize that life is messy and often painful and and oftentimes my faith is too. Stories don’t often end with all the lose ends tied up in a neat little bow. How we react to the messiness that life throws at us and who/what we turn to defines who we are. I feel like Josh expressed this clearly, amusingly, eloquently and with a good amount of humor.

The pastor of our church updated his status recently with something I believe to be completely true and I think it relates to this book really nicely. “The deepest level of community is when you can share your brokenness and pain with others and their love for you increases.” I think this is one of the things Jesus came to say. It is a beautiful thing when the Church can provide true community to everyone, regardless of differing views on faith, politics, ethnicity, income or anything else. I really enjoyed this book, it challenged me and pushed me to embrace and grow through the mess. 9.5/10

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 17, 2009 at 10:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a great post! I’ll add that book to my TBR!

  2. Posted November 18, 2009 at 6:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks so much for reading my generation, for your thoughts and insights, and for helping get the word out. I really appreciate it and I really enjoyed my time at Origins…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

