5 Months

Another month. Just vanished! Jude turned 5 months yesterday and I am in shock that it’s already been 5 months. He is getting so big so quickly!

Recently he has become an even easier baby – he goes down for naps without the use of the sling now! Woo hoo! And his naps are a significant length of time. It’s pretty great. I get a lot done while he’s napping. Well, and sometimes I nap too. 🙂

Speaking of sleeping, he has been sleeping pretty much through the night now. He pretty much only wakes up around 5am, eats, then goes back to sleep for a long awhile. And here’s a confession, he sleeps on his tummy. For all you non-moms out there, it’s not recommended for babies to sleep on the bellies. Apparently it’s linked to SIDS. . . (it kinda seems like everything either prevents SIDS or is linked to SIDS, but no one knows exactly what SIDS is. . . ) but I’ve done some reading and as long as they can roll over and lift up their heads, it should be ok. And I mean, even if I put him on his back, he rolls on his belly. I’m not going to fight it!

One more month and we start solid foods. I’m pretty excited about trying out different baby food recipes that I’ve accumulated. I’m pretty sure this baby is going to like food if he takes after me at all. I’ve already been letting him taste certain things like mushed banana that I’ve been eating, the condensation on cups, licks of an apple, fresh pomegranate juice. He seems pretty excited about all of it.

And I’m finally back into my pre-pregnancy jeans! I was pretty thrilled the day I pulled them on. Now, there is still a significant need for some toning and such since it seems things have shifted around a bit over the course of this adventure, but that’s to be expected I guess. Now if I could just motivate myself to start running again. . . hm.

12 Comments

  1. Posted November 17, 2009 at 5:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    He’s such a cutie! And yay for pre-pregnancy jeans!

  2. Posted November 18, 2009 at 10:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    ha ha — Ellie took the words right out of my mouth!

  3. Katie Rice
    Posted November 18, 2009 at 11:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth, I read in Parenting magazine that as long as you lay them on their back what they do in their sleep is their business. Also, most SIDS cases happen between 2-4 months anyway. YAY! Jude is 5 months!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 18, 2009 at 11:31 am | Permalink | Reply

      Good to know! Thanks!

  4. Rosie
    Posted November 19, 2009 at 4:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    It is interesting that you mentions SIDS. I live in OZ and here there is a lot of information about preventing it. I visit a lot of US sites and notice a lot of parent there have bumpers on their baby’s cots. Here bumpers are a major no-no SIDS wise. I have always wondered what information is given out in the US as here is is drummed into us:

    Put baby to sleep in their back
    Mimimal bedding (no bumper, quilts, pillows, sleeping bags are good)
    Make sure the baby isn’t too hot when sleeping
    Not exposed to tabacco smoke pre birth or after
    Placed to sleep feet at the end of cot
    If possible sleep in the same room as parents in own beeding for at least the first 6 months

    Here is the OZ website for SIDS http://www.sidsandkids.org/index.html

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 19, 2009 at 7:15 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks for sharing! It all sounds pretty similar to what they say here in the US except for the bumpers and having the baby sleep in your room… We had Jude in our room in a bassinet for a long time (about 4 months) but he outgrew it and our room isn’t big enough to have our bed and a crib! The bumpers not being in the crib is interesting…. I guess there are worries of smothering?

      • Posted November 19, 2009 at 8:47 am | Permalink | Reply

        We actually learned that it is because of sufficient airflow…that is why they recommend no bumpers and a fan in the room. I have also seen these new breathable bumpers coming out now for that reason too.

        • Elizabeth
          Posted November 19, 2009 at 10:49 am | Permalink

          It seems like this info changes all the time! When do they recommend using bumpers now?

      • Posted November 19, 2009 at 2:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

        They don’t. ha ha! Actually, I think the whole SIDS scare is through 1 year old, so I guess after that would be okay. We still have them on our crib yet to be used…I think if you have taken all the other precautions, you should be okay. Ventilation with a fan, sometimes a humidifier, no blankets or pillows, blah blah blah.

        • Rosie
          Posted November 19, 2009 at 2:41 pm | Permalink

          I think bumpers are also for smothering. After all it is like a really thick doona. Our baby rolled and had his face against the side of the bassinette when only a couple of months old. I am glad it was only mesh.

          It is also recommend not to have baby sleep with hats as this is how they regulae their heat.

  5. Posted November 20, 2009 at 1:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm… my ped told me that SIDS tends to happen to kiddos with heart problems. Not sure. Rhys sleeps on his back, but I’ve never been too worried about him suffocating (maybe I should be?), especially once he was able to roll.

    The baby food stage is so fun. Granted, I started mine a few weeks before Rhys turned six months (actually, I didn’t realize they suggested six months until I had him – I swear that’s changed since Eden was born). He’s had bananas, prunes, green beans, peas, squash. I’ve been pretty random, but he’s liked it all so far. Making it so fun, and I do think it helped Eden eat a variety of foods. She goes for her veggies before anything else on her plate. I’m crossing my fingers that Rhys will do the same!

    Happy five months, Jude!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 20, 2009 at 2:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I haven’t really been worried about SIDS with Jude. Maybe that just shows my inexperience as a mom, but I don’t really want to spend my energy worrying. Being wise about it is important, so it is good to have the information but it does seem to change everyday. . .

      I think recommended baby food introduction times change regularly too! For me, it really comes down to you and your baby. Every mom has instincts and we do what is best for our child. 🙂 I really can’t wait to see what Jude likes and dislikes. I have three baby food cookbooks and I want to make everything in them! I’m also looking forward to hopefully starting a veggie garden this spring so hopefully a lot of his food will come from our backyard. . . So many plans, so little time! The plight of every mother, huh?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

