Ginger and Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée

And the final crème brûlée. I actually made this one from start to finish! And I was proud of myself for how it turned out. I’m pretty convinced that I should get a culinary torch now so I can continue to make these delectable desserts whenever the craving should hit. Especially now that I know custards shouldn’t be feared and they certainly shouldn’t cost as much as most restaurants charge for them!

I think my one frustration with this recipe is that it was far too sweet. I tend to like things (even my sweets) on the more subtle side and this was a bit cloying. The texture was perfect and the hint of ginger flavor was perfect but the sweetness was off.

That being said, it didn’t stop me and three other people from devouring the entire pie plate full of family-style crème brûlée although I was done with sweets for the rest of the night after this one!

Recipe for Ginger and Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée

One Comment

  1. Posted November 17, 2009 at 12:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love ginger!

One Trackback

  1. […] Ice Cream 2009 December 7 by Elizabeth Since I recently got over my fear of custards, I decided I would try out an ice cream recipe. And with all this pie and dessert […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

