The Krista Apron

I got around to some sewing lately and finally got to work on a gift for a good friend of mine’s graduation. She graduated in May. Oops. What can I say? Life got a little busy!

It was determined that she wanted a cute apron based on one that we saw on the anthropologie website.

Anthropologie Apron

Cute, right?

Always up for a challenge, I decided I would try to recreate it without a pattern. I tried a couple new techniques, most notably, shirring with elastic thread. Pretty dang cool effect for very little effort!

Overall I’m happy with how it turned out. I need to learn some more about working with fabric after it’s been shirred. . . or really, I should have made the top of the apron a different shape before it was shirred. And maybe made the straps a bit thinner. Next time around. . . I’m thinking about making this apron a tutorial, anyone interested? I’ll work out the kinks if I make it again as a tutorial. 🙂

14 Comments

  1. Posted November 18, 2009 at 9:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    so cool! love the colors

    my kiddos are starting to be interested in the kitchen area (i know i’m late in letting them participate a lot- with a 3 year old as the oldest) and i was wondering if you might do a smaller template as well?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 18, 2009 at 10:01 am | Permalink | Reply

      Anthropologie actually has this in kid sized too! I think I could give multiple measurements for different sizes… Let me see what I can do!

  2. Posted November 18, 2009 at 9:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    It turned out great!! I love the shirring…and love that it isn’t as hard as one thinks after you get started! 🙂

  3. Jennifer
    Posted November 18, 2009 at 11:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love it! Aprons are such fun gifts. I’m going to make your other apron pattern for a friend for her birthday. I think we’d all love another one of your tutorials!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 18, 2009 at 5:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Can’t wait to see how the Marie Apron turns out for you! It’s really easy. 🙂

  4. Posted November 18, 2009 at 12:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    thumbs up for a tutorial. i haven’t sewed an apron yet but it’s on my “to try” list to sew. one day!

  5. elliek
    Posted November 18, 2009 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So adorable! I think the cute pocket might be my favorite!

  6. Jenny
    Posted November 19, 2009 at 1:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Tutorial PLEASE!

  7. RB
    Posted November 19, 2009 at 2:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is really cute! You did a GREAT job without a pattern. The bottom is my favorite part.

  8. Posted November 20, 2009 at 1:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! I love it! I’ve always thought the shirring was difficult to do? I’ve heard a few patterns call for that, so I skip to something “easier”. What did you think?

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 20, 2009 at 2:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Shirring was very easy! Elastic thread in the bobbin (hand wound), regular thread in top. . . sew straight lines!

  9. Posted November 20, 2009 at 2:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yes, yes, a tutorial! Love it! Good work!

  10. Posted November 22, 2009 at 6:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    hi! love your blog! 🙂 i’m working on my own apron at the moment and while searching for inspirations found this one and totally in LOVE! this is the first apron i found using shirring technique, how clever! can’t wait for the tutorial 🙂

  11. nellie diaz
    Posted May 14, 2010 at 7:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    love your patterns thank you so very much for them ,now i have some summer sewing projects to make thank you

3 Trackbacks

  1. By More Changes for the New Decade « think liz. on December 31, 2009 at 9:57 am

    […] a few more free patterns/tutorials (the Krista apron being one of […]

  2. By A Week Off « think liz. on February 28, 2010 at 10:29 am

    […] A Week Off Hey blog friends! I just wanted to give you a heads up that I’m going to take the week off from blogging since we have a busy week coming up around here! I’ll have lots of fun stuff to share when I get back- photos of our new tile backsplash, more recipes, some book reviews, lots of new Diana Hobos and probably most excitingly, the tutorial for the Krista Apron! […]

  3. By Free Pattern:: Krista Apron « think liz. on March 12, 2010 at 8:02 am

    […] Pattern:: Krista Apron I promised you another free pattern, and I’m excited to share it with you on free pattern Friday! The Krista […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

