Secret Sewing

Saturday I helped throw a baby shower for a friend. I love throwing baby showers and all the planning/sewing/cooking that comes along with it! How cute is this onesie banner? I love practical decorations!

I always have such a hard time staying quiet when I’m sewing gifts for friends! I want to post pictures before I even give the gift, but force myself to stay quiet. . . Well these presents were made by me, Ellie and Jenn all together for our good friend Amanda!

We all got together one day and each sewed three blocks for a nine block baby quilt that we dreamed up. We each had a color and did one log cabin, one checkerboard and one stripe block in our choosen color.

I am really happy with the result! It’s a fairly modern looking quilt that looks girlish but not girly.

The backing fabric is what we based most of our color choices on. It’s so cute and made me tear up when we were reading it in the store… Love it!

And we found this great fabric flower tutorial from green… it’s the new blue that we decided to do as a centerpiece that could be taken home to decorate the nursery. Most of the fabrics we used were scraps from the quilt.

Don’t be fooled… This project looks quick, but I think it took us longer to make and assemble twelve flowers than it did to assemble the quilt face! I did love the way the bouquet turned out though… Well worth the time and effort.

And of course I had to make a sling. No baby shower is complete without one. 🙂

So fun! Congratulations again Amanda! We can’t wait to meet your little girl!

5 Comments

  1. Posted November 23, 2009 at 6:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    what a beautiful quilt! i love how you worked together with friends to make it! 🙂

  2. Posted November 23, 2009 at 9:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    It was the best day!! And I just love, love, love the quilt your girls made for BHohns…so special and the colors are just perfect! Thank you again for hosting such a wonderful shower — I couldn’t ask for better friends! (Oh and thanks for making those fabric flowers, b/c it lets me mark a project off my to-do list for her room…yay!!)

  3. Posted November 23, 2009 at 12:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I had so much fun making that quilt. It’s great working together with friends! If only my huge quilts would come together that quickly. 🙂

  4. Posted November 23, 2009 at 1:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The quilt is beautiful!! I made a quilt for my niece a couple of years ago, and it had some of the same fabrics you chose. 🙂

    And those fabric flowers do look time consuming. What good friends to put so much effort on the details. Looks like this little girl is going to have lots of love.

    Oh, and since I don’t have a flickr login, can I just say here, that those photos of your little guy on the floor are adorable? His eyes are beautiful!! I can’t tell if his eyes are blue or brown? Either way, they sparkle.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 23, 2009 at 1:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Sheri! I don’t think his eyes know what color they are yet. 🙂

One Trackback

  1. By Baby Sewing « elliek on December 4, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    […] I know it’s lazy but I’m not going to write about all this because both Jenn and Beth did such a good job. So enjoy the links to their posts and forgive my […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

