Cannellini Bean Dip with Truffle Oil

There is this restaurant here in Austin, called Asti, that serves this fantastic bean dip as an appetizer (although I think they may call it a purée… It’s fancier that way). It is so delicious, it’s addicting! I decided to try and whip up a batch for Amanda’s shower and I think it was a huge hit. It’s so simple and then you just use truffle oil to dress it up a bit. I know, I know, ‘so expensive’, right? Well I got a bottle of it for $5 at HEB. Not bad at all. And that smell, and that flavor! So rich, earthy, nutty, buttery… There is nothing else like it. Perfect on top of this bean dip.

Now this dip is similar to a hummus but it’s so much more rich and creamy. A perfect Thanksgiving day appetizer . . . Simply yummy! I’m going to try to recount what I did when I recreated this, but beware, there aren’t any measurements! It’s really not necessary!

Cannellini Bean Dip with Truffle Oil

Dry cannellini beans
Onion
Carrot
Celery
Garlic
Peppercorns
Bay leaf
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Truffle oil

Soak beans in water overnight in a large bowl.

Rinse beans. Add to a large pot.

Cut carrot and celery into 4″ pieces. Quarter onions, add garlic whole. Place peppercorns and bay leaf in some cheese cloth and tie up with kitchen twine. All in the pot!

Fill with water about 2″ above all the veggies. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for two hours.

When beans are tender, drain all liquid. Pick out veggies and herbs. Place beans in food processor. Turn on and stream in olive oil until a creamy texture is achieved. Taste and adjust season with salt and pepper.

Serve drizzled with a generous portion of truffle oil. French bread, crackers, crustini or raw veggies all play nice with this dip.

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 25, 2009 at 4:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    One of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth!

  2. Posted November 30, 2009 at 10:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think I could have eaten the entire bowl myself…I stopped counting how much I ate when I got thirds… 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] bread recipes but never have turned up anything easy enough that is tasty. Then I made all this cannellini bean dip and I needed bread! I didn’t want to go to the store so I went hunting for a recipe. And I […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

