Perfect French Bread

I have tried a couple French bread recipes but never have turned up anything easy enough that is tasty. Then I made all this cannellini bean dip and I needed bread! I didn’t want to go to the store so I went hunting for a recipe. And I found this.

So easy. I’ve already made this recipe several times! It is so delicious and the texture is just right. The crust isn’t too tough or crunchy and it toasts up nicely into crustini!

It really is easy and worth a try. The recipe asks you to throw water on the floor of the oven to create steam. I wasn’t comfortable doing this so I placed a cookie sheet on the bottom on the oven and got the same results!

Pretty sure you should try this. It is really perfect! Perfect for the Thanksgiving table. I’m just saying . . . 🙂

Recipe for Perfect French Bread

3 Comments

  1. Posted November 25, 2009 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Elizabeth, I don’t know how you find all the energy to do all you do, be a mom, and then make homemade bread! I am truly in awe! I hope I can do half the stuff you do……I’m going to blame it on being about 5 years older than you! 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted November 25, 2009 at 3:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Long baby naps! And bread is actually pretty great for doing while hanging with Jude since it has a fairly short hands on time because most of the time involved is rising!

      And you’re going to be a great mom Charlotte! I’ve alway thought that! 🙂

  2. elliek
    Posted November 25, 2009 at 4:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This bread is so good!

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] out of the pan. Mmmm. I served mine with sour cream mashed potatoes, and next time I will have some French bread too – that sauce is yummy and needs to be sopped […]

  2. By Spicy Caramel Popcorn « think liz. on January 5, 2010 at 9:43 am

    […] recipes that I have to share are all from our New Years spread. You can see world peace cookies, French bread, Gorgonzola honey toast points (which are simply slices of toasted bread with melted Gorgonzola and […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

