Some Thanksgiving Recipes

So I made most of our Thanksgiving menu from the November issue of Bon Appetit and while everything was tasty (the stuffing, the turkey), the recipes I’m sharing were the standouts for me. The others were fun but I’ll definitely be going back to brining the turkey next year. These are definitely worth repeating for future Thanksgivings.

I have made my own cranberry sauce for awhile now… Since college if I’m remembering correctly. It’s so easy, fresh cranberries, water, sugar – so much tastier than that canned gelatinous blob! This recipe takes what I used to do and makes it more savory, even less jello. The addition of Dijon and whole grain mustard make the cranberry sauce something I actually do want to smother my turkey with!

Cranberry Mustard Relish

And this pie. Oh goodness, so easy but definitely the best pumpkin pie I’ve ever had. That brown sugar walnut topping put me over the edge. Simple and delicious is a good recipe for anything for Thanksgiving! I will make this again. Maybe for Christmas. Just a note about the cooking time though… It took significantly longer to set than the recipe called for. Not a big deal, just be aware that your oven could be different. (I wanted to take a picture of the inside of the pie but it just didn’t happen – too yummy to pause and take a picture!)


Pumpkin Pie with Brown Sugar Walnut Topping

5 Comments

  1. Misty
    Posted December 3, 2009 at 11:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, I always find things go more smoothly when I “bribe” the turkey. 😉

    Those recipes look delish. We were in such a whirlwind with it being our first married Thanksgiving, plus in-laws visiting, that we didn’t really get to try anything fun. We mostly went with stuff we already eat regularly (squash, mashed potatoes, etc.) and focused on the turkey, which wasn’t anything spectacular but was good, regardless. I’m bookmarking these recipes for possible use over the remaining holidays and/or next Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 3, 2009 at 1:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Haha oops! That’s what I get for typing this post up on my phone. . . auto text correction! I meant ‘brining’ the turkey, although bribing it to taste good might work as well!

  2. elliek
    Posted December 3, 2009 at 12:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t normally like cranberry sauce, but I really liked this one. And the pie…oh the pie…this was the best pumpkin pie I’d ever had!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 3, 2009 at 1:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ellie, I think people might be beginning to think that I test out all my recipes on you. 🙂

  3. Rosie
    Posted December 3, 2009 at 5:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These look beautiful, and I love the sound of that cranberry sauce!
    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

