Felt Mr. Potato Head

I saw this post on a felt Mr. Potato Head and knew that I just had to make it. I really haven’t had a whole lot of experience with felt softies, especially sewing them by machine, so I was excited about making this a learning experience! I hand sketched out all of the pieces on paper before cutting them out of the felt so there’s no pattern for this but the shapes are pretty easy to draw.

I think he turned out pretty stinking cute. Or should I say ‘she’?

I took the advice to make the back pocket pleated and thought that it worked out pretty well.

Pretty fun little project and I definitely learned a lot about working with felt. I choose not to glue any of the pieces on (like the stripes on the hats or the eye color) since I was giving this to a one year old and I didn’t want anything to be easy to pull off! Everything was sewn on. No choking hazards please!

I think if I were to make this again I would sew the potato form right sides together and flip it so that the seams were on the inside. I think that may help remove the dimple that formed at the bottom – hand sewing it shut with an invisible stitch would probably take care of that. That’s the only part that looks a little more messy to me than I would like. I actually like the seams on all of the face pieces. A pretty great idea over all and possibly the beginning of a felt addiction for me. It’s so nice not to have to worry about fraying!

4 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted December 8, 2009 at 12:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jake told me about this – it’s so cute!

  2. Posted December 8, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Too cute! I loved playing with my Mr. & Mrs. Potato-Head when I was young.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 8, 2009 at 3:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I have good memories of playing with other people’s Mr. Potato Head dolls when I was little. I don’t think that I actually had one! I’m definitely going to make another one of these for Jude. . .

  3. Posted December 9, 2009 at 11:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    Just wanted to pass on this way of saving $ on a Mr. Potato Head set. Check out this blog.
    http://www.coupongeek.net/

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

