Christmas Ornament 2009

So the other day, I saw this free pattern for a half eaten gingerbread man ornament and I just loved it! I knew I had to make one since it seemed simple enough and I’m pretty sure I’m not going to get around to making our personalized Christmas stockings until AFTER Christmas when the Christmas fabric I like goes on sale. And that Christmas tree skirt I want to make? It’ll have to wait until Christmas in July.

But this guy, he’s easy. I already had all of the things I needed to make him although I did substitute white buttons over the red buttons the tutorial shows and I used normal sized rick rack instead of mini, but I still think he’s cute.

So I’m thinking this ornament making should be a yearly tradition in our home. Once Jude is old enough, I think he should be the one that decides what the ornament should be and then we’ll figure out how to make it!

So here’s Jude’s ornament for 2009. Because goodness knows that this child likes to eat and if he was eating solid foods he certainly would take some chomps out of a gingerbread man.

7 Comments

  1. Posted December 11, 2009 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this ornament! It’s on my long list of projects that I hope to get to someday. I love the idea of handmade Christmas ornaments!

  2. Posted December 11, 2009 at 2:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s pretty funny. I love starting new traditions!

  3. Posted December 11, 2009 at 2:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ok, first of all the gingerbreadman is incredibly cute! Second, I think it is great idea to do yearly Christmas ornaments. My mom started that tradition years ago and that’s why I have the number of ornaments I do now. I don’t have to bother with the cheesy store bought stuff!

  4. Posted December 11, 2009 at 2:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Glad to know it was easy…since it is on my to do list…after I finish my stockings, which will probably happen today! YAY! I think it is the perfect ornament for Jude’s first Christmas…so fun!

  5. Sharon
    Posted December 14, 2009 at 1:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    really really cute! speaking of oranaments, I got wrapped up in writing about christmas gifts that I forgot to tell you about our tradition, which was the topic….when we arrived in Austin, our new stay put hometown, we visited Ten Thousand Villages on South Congress and found decorations hand made by artists in various countries. They are so beautiful and comes with a story of the artist and their country. Jeb loves to see the different spins each country or tribe has on Christmas. So for our first stop, we all go there and pick one each. Needless to say, it’s only been three years now and our tree is slowly starting to fill up. Then we head over to the nursery and pick a tree. Yes, farm raised trees ARE better than petroleum based fake trees. Sorry. Check this out: http://www.tenthousandvillages.com/home.php and http://www.care2.com/greenliving/fake-real-greenest-christmas-tree.html

  6. Posted December 14, 2009 at 11:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is so clever and adorable! 🙂

  7. mindy
    Posted December 15, 2009 at 10:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    hahahaaaa – adorable!!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

