Coffee Toffee

I really like trying to make candy but the results are often disastrous, messy and not as tasty as I’d like. Don’t even get me started on tempering chocolate. Ugh. Well, Deb at Smitten Kitchen did it again. We seem to have the same taste buds because I adore toffee. Heath bar with ice cream? Yes please. Shoot, I’ll eat just the ice cream CONE dipped in chocolate and rolled in heath bar. But again, who the heck knows what is really in heath bar. I don’t know that I want to know. Well it turns out that toffee is so easy to make as long as you have a candy thermometer! So this batch turned out perfect. I subbed honey for the molasses since I was using ingredients I already had in the house . . . no need to buy molasses since I had honey. I also doubled the recipe. I couldn’t stop eating it – to the point that I gave my self a bit of a stomach ache while eating the pieces that ‘weren’t quite perfect’ while breaking up the big sheet of toffee. Hehe.

Recipe for Coffee Toffee

So after making all of this toffee, I decided this would be a great holiday sweet treat for our neighbors. I saw these pyramid gifts boxes (you can download the template and instructions here) and I thought they would be perfect for wrapping up a few pieces of candy and heading over to the neighbors.

Super easy to make and perfect for small sized gifts. I was kinda lazy so I didn’t decorate the card stock I used, but I was thinking the white is reminiscent of snow. Right?

I’m pretty sure I’ll be making this toffee and these little gift boxes many, many more times!

8 Comments

  1. Posted December 14, 2009 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Mmmm, this toffee was so good! I ate all of mine at once. 🙂 The boxes are super cute, too.

  2. Posted December 14, 2009 at 12:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love toffee too – so fun!

  3. Posted December 14, 2009 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I used to eat Heath bars all the time in high school and I don’t think I have had one since, but your toffee is putting ideas in my head. Look scrumdidlyumptious!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 14, 2009 at 12:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’m telling you, so easy and much faster than cookies. Perfect for Christmas treats!

      • Posted December 14, 2009 at 12:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

        Possible stocking stuffer, me thinks. 🙂

        • Elizabeth
          Posted December 14, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink

          Perfect stocking stuffer! It really only took around 20 minutes to make, then just had to sit in the fridge until it was hardened.

  4. Aubrey
    Posted December 15, 2009 at 12:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t wait to learn how to make it!!! It was aaaaaaamazing 🙂

  5. Sapphire Lizard
    Posted December 20, 2009 at 11:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for sharing this with us. I’ve never made any kind of candy before…too scared to try, but your confidence (and Deb’s) made me give it a try. This definitely is an easy recipe. Yummy!1

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] Toffee — After Beth enticed me with her wonderful photos of this toffee and her description of how easy it was to make, […]

  2. By Butterscotch Sauce « think liz. on January 4, 2010 at 11:14 am

    […] this! Maybe make some vanilla bean ice cream, hot chocolate fudge, marshmallows and crumble some toffee over top for a sundae party? Sounds good to […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

