Six Months Old: Half Year

Jeez. I’ve said it before and I’m sure I’ll continue saying it, this is going too fast.

I’m officially losing my hair. Yay. One more great side effect of pregnancy – during it, your hair doesn’t really fall out at the same rate as your un-pregnant hair, so you have this thick great hair. Post baby (for me around 5.5 months), a bunch falls out leaving you with super fine hair. I haven’t seen so much hair on the floor since my hair was really, really long. Supposedly it will grow back . . . but dang, this kid is already causing me to lose my hair!

Jude is over 20 pounds. And he’s in 9-12 month clothes. Check the title of this post. Yes. You read correctly, he’s 6 months old. This child is ginormous! He hasn’t even started solids yet! Although I do have 24 two ounce containers in the freezer of homemade sweet potatoes, peas, apples, pears, winter squash and brown rice cereal which I can’t wait to feed him! We get to start today! Looove making baby food!

We’re starting him on the guitar early. Hehe. He already has a fascination with all things musical, especially drums. I really want to get him these wooden drums once he’s old enough. I contemplated getting him those for Christmas but really, he’s too young. Instead he’s getting one toy from us for Christmas, Sophia the Giraffe. I keep hearing that it’s a favorite teether among many babies. And we are certainly teething now – everything (and I mean everything, including the cat if he ventures too close) goes in baby’s mouth.

Still no crawling or sitting up on his own, but he’s starting to try more in both those areas. I have no problem with him not crawling right away. . . once he’s mobile I know my whole life and routine is going to change. It will certainly be time to better baby-proof the house!

Jude sleeps really well – goes down at 7:30pm-ish and wakes up around 5am to eat and then goes back to sleep until 8:30am-ish. It’s pretty nice. I think he inherited my sleeping genes, which is a good thing if you know anything about Jason’s sleeping habits. He takes two super long naps during the day and I have lots of time to clean, sew, cook or nap. My life revolves around nap time now.

It seems each month brings about new struggles with a little one. In the beginning, you’re sleep deprived and struggling just to shower and feed yourself. Then you start getting more mobile as you get a routine down and things get better. . . and now nap time. I’ve said it in past posts but I struggle with feeling jealous of Jason’s freedom to go where he wants, when he wants (disclaimer: he helps me out and lets me get out frequently, so this feeling certainly has nothing to do with him and his actions, but more with my knowing that he has the option). I spend most of my days rushing around so that I can be home for nap time because Jude is too big to nap in the cradle position in the sling. Now that he wants to go to bed for the night around 7:30pm, it’s hard to go out and do things in the evenings during the week. It feels like everything happens at 7pm and I’m having to sit out most of those things now. What do you moms out there do? I’ve tried to put him to sleep at other people’s homes but it’s all new and exciting and he doesn’t seem to want to sleep as much as stay up and be cranky. I know it’s just a season, but I don’t want to stay home all the time during the week!

There are moments when I miss my old life, working in a professional career, having the freedom to go out, travel etc. But really, when I spend time with Jude, those things don’t matter anymore. It’s a difficult job, raising a child, thankless at times. There is no vacation time, time off or sick time. You’re on call 24/7 but somehow it’s all worth it. Somedays I feel it more than others, but on most days I know that it’s the job that has the most valuable investment of my life.

5 Comments

  1. Brenda Farris
    Posted December 16, 2009 at 9:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Sweet Beth, I’m so proud you see the value in routines and, yes, sacrificing for your precious baby boy. I see so many crying, hungry, semi-dirty babies out at all hours because their mommies and daddies aren’t willing to make them first for this short season. Sometimes one wants to say “what were you thinking?”

    Wish I could hug you and that darling Jude! Love, Mrs. Farris

  2. Monica
    Posted December 16, 2009 at 1:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I didn’t know it was possible to have a bloggy-twin but I believe I do! Hair falling out – check. Adorable baby – check. Love being a mommy – check. Occassional feelings of jealousy and being trapped – check. So, can we be real friends? I know I live far away, but I could really use some nap and sleep tips and just general mommy friendship. Would you mind emailing me? monicajgee at gmail dot com. 🙂 Congrats on reaching the food stage! Fun!

  3. Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    well- i know it’s not for everyone (especially budget wise) but i have resorted to getting a sitter. if the babe is asleep- which my oldest is 3 and we’re still putting them to bed regularly before 7:30pm and so that leaves the evening chunk kind of open. some of my friends have even worked out that if the kid is asleep they’ll pay the sitter 1/2 since they are able to do what they want (watch tv, do homework- etc).
    my husband and i also alternate evenings where we do stuff= this leads to a bit of “i don’t know who you are” sometimes with my husband, but we try to make it work as well as possible. i’m sure there are more options!

  4. Posted December 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    HOLY COW HE IS SO CUTE!!!!!!! Must have something to do with his absolutely gorgeous mommy!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 24, 2009 at 7:49 am | Permalink | Reply

      You are too sweet… Thanks Ruthie!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

