The Launch:: Giveaway!

Happy birthday to me! Happy birthday to me! Happy birthday dear Elizab…

Oh right, the REAL purpose of this post! Well, not only is today my 27th birthday, it is also the launch of my new blog and new etsy shop! elizabethcarroll.wordpress.com will now forward to www.thinkliz.com. Those of you that have a subscription to the blog need not worry, your rss feed will be exactly the same. You don’t need to change anything! But I would love for you to stop by the site and let me know what you think of the need blog design (and please excuse any weird quirks – it’s not showing up how it was on the test site).

And the etsy shop… I’m going to start off selling some of my free pattern items and some jewelry (remember the leaf earrings/necklace set? They got such a good response from you guys that I’m putting them in the shop!) and the hopefully expand to other things. This is for those of you who don’t sew! I’ll be adding one item every day or so for awhile to get maximum exposure on their ‘new items listed’ page so please check back regularly. I’m eventually thinking of putting together gift sets for new moms with slings, nursing covers, bibs and burp rags too! Someday I hope to learn how to screen print and knit so those items may join the shop later on. I also want to start thrifting more fabric and make some adaptive reuse items… I’d love to know what you would like to see in the shop – please let me know.

And on to the real point! To celebrate all of these new things (and my birthday!), I’m giving away a Diana hobo to someone who comments on this post! The giveaway will remain open until midnight on Christmas Eve and I’ll announce the winner on Christmas day using the random number generator. Think of this as my Christmas present to you. Those of you reading on facebook, please head over to www.thinkliz.com and comment on the blog post, NOT the facebook post. I won’t be able to count comments on the facebook post – sorry! And all you blog stalkers out there (yes I’m talking to you), I am expecting you guys to show up on this one! So comment away and let me know who you are! I’m sorry to say that I can’t ship outside of the US and Canada right now. Sorry international friends!

So here’s the bag:

Pretty, right? That’s Alexander Henry’s “mocca” fabric. It could be all yours if you leave a comment on this post! And here’s what I’m going to do, refer a friend to comment on this post and I’ll give you one extra entry – just have your friend say that you referred them and then you post an additional comment telling me who you referred.

Good luck everyone!

90 Comments

  1. Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:38 am | Permalink

    Wow, I’m the first one! This is really exciting. I love that bag too!

  2. Katie Rice
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    Beth, I love the new blog design it is very you (not surprised about the green 🙂 and the bag is super cute too! Happy Birthday!

  3. Chrystal Dodson
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:50 am | Permalink

    Such a cute bag!!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

      You only get to enter once! Had to delete your other comment… The threaded comments aren’t counted though, so you can reply away on those…

  4. Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:58 am | Permalink

    First off, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BETH!!! Secondly, your new blog design ROCKS! I love the green retro design. I’m so excited for you – gonna check out your etsy shop today. I think having a “Mom Kit” is very cool. Of course, I’m gonna be bias and say anything “baby” will be cool in the shop, but other stuff like purses/bags, crafty stuff, even tons of patterns (I’m all about expanding my sewing abilities!).

  5. Krista Box
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:05 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday Beth!!! And I L.O.V.E. your new blog design! Crossing my fingers over here that I win your first give away! I’m so excited that you are starting your etsy shop!

  6. elliek
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:06 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday Beth! Your new blog design is awesome and all your branding on the esty sight is great!You’re so inspiring! I can’t wait to see all you will do with this new venture.

  7. Aubrey
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    BETH! Happy birthday 🙂 You are such a blessing and I LOVE the new site! Thanks for letting me be a part of the unveiling 🙂 Like I said last night about the Diana hobo you’re giving away….”this one’s my favorite” :).

    Ha! God Bless and again, congrats on the new site! It’s wonderful 🙂

  8. Rebecca K
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    First of all HAPPY BIRTHDAY and congrats on your new venture!!! Secondly, your son is an absolute doll and how come boys always have such great lashes!!! 🙂
    My sister has a little girl coming in February and I would just love that pocket sling for her to carry the baby around while she is also trying to corral her little boy! I just wish I knew how to sew… 😦

  9. Katie Robillard
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday Beth! Just checking out the new Blog- it looks great and so excited to see you have an Etsy shop- some of my best purchases have been from etsy 🙂 Much love to you and your family this Christmas!

  10. Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:35 am | Permalink

    1st of all – I love reading your blog! Happy Birthday and congratulations on the new site. Your family is lovely! – Ginger

  11. Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    I love this bag! I have been wanting a new bag for a while, but just haven’t had the time or the money to find one. This one would be prefect!

    I hope you have a wonderful birthday!

  12. Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:42 am | Permalink

    I love that bag! And congrats on opening the Etsy shop… I write for re-nest.com and my post today is all about how great Etsy shop folks are. Head over to re-nest.com at 1pm today to check it out!

    • Aubrey
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:56 am | Permalink

      this is my sis, beth! check out her blog 🙂

      • Elizabeth
        Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:00 pm | Permalink

        Will do! Thanks!

  13. Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:52 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday friend! I hope you have an amazing birthday. Us December birthdays have to look out for each other 🙂

  14. Lindsey Thomson
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:53 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday Beth & Congrats on the new Etsy Shop! So FUN! Isn’t it great when you can take your fun hobbies and make them your “job” :). Super cute bag, too!

  15. Jennifer DeStefano
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 10:58 am | Permalink

    Super cute bag! Love your creativity.

  16. Sarah H
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    Liz! Love this new purse… the chic design and adorable fabric. You did a great job and I really like your blog design as well. I always like green… 🙂 Have a great birthday!

  17. Kayle
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 11:10 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday Beth!!! Love the new site and that bag!! 🙂 And congrats on the new shop!!

  18. tristen
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 11:28 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday! Beautiful purse, I think I need one or 10!! I prefer not to think of myself as a blog stalker since I’ve been subscribing for a long time and make all of your recipes! Thanks for keeping a fantastic blog!

  19. Rachel B.
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    Hi Beth! Great blog! You asked about items for your shop… I LOVED that apron you made a few months back. I hope you know the one I’m talking about. What can I say, I’m just the kind of girl that wants an adorable frilly apron (that’s still tasteful of course – which that one is!)! If you end up putting it up, let me know – I’d be interested in one! 🙂

    And the bag is adorable too of course! I’m so jealous of you ladies that sew so well!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

      I definitely want to put the Krista Apron in the shop! I also need to do a tutorial on it to share on the blog! I’m hoping to make one soon.

  20. Posted December 17, 2009 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    Love, love the new site! Way to go on the Etsy store too!

    Love the Diana hobo, have the pattern saved and hope to make some once I get some awesome fabric.

    Happy Birthday!

    Oh and I love the lizard! I was actually lizardgirl for a loooong time with an old email. 🙂

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

      My dad always called me ‘Lizard’ growing up . . . there is something nostalgic about it!

  21. Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:03 pm | Permalink

    Fantastic new site! Love the bag too!

  22. Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

    Pick me! Pick Me! And Happy birthday too!

    I love the bag and the new site. I love the purse you made M a couple of years ago. She still uses it and I still threaten to steal it from her!!!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

      I need to make a few more of those – they are really cute!

  23. Michelle
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:08 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday!

    The new blog looks great! Love the “Think Liz” name. I have tons of potential blog posts saved on my computer but I always get stuck at what to call my blog and I never get any further than that.

    Oh crap the cat just knocked down the Christmas tree..

    I’m back. Had to do a bit of clean up!

    Where was I… Oh, yes. Your name is so clever! How did you come up with it?

    I’m happy that you are shipping to Canada. 🙂

    Michelle
    michelou[at]gmail[dot]com

    P.S. I don’t consider myself a stalker since I’ve commented a few times (thanks again for the baby sling tutorial!)

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 18, 2009 at 11:49 am | Permalink

      So I think I have to give full credit to Jason – he is kinda silly and one day decided he needed to buy the ‘ThinkLiz’ domain name. . . It’s taken him a couple of months to convince me that it was a good idea to move the blog and name my shop ThinkLiz but now I love it too!

  24. Erin
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:19 pm | Permalink

    Love the bag! Referred by Ginger Morby 🙂

  25. Christina
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 12:21 pm | Permalink

    The bag is beautiful! I’m going to try the Phoebe bag.

  26. Anne Embry
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

    CUTE bag, Beth! I may post this on my blog too, if you don’t mind!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

      Please do! What’s your blog address?

  27. deezahoney
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday, Beth!

    The new site design is lovely – and I love the header at your Etsy shop site as well.

  28. Miranda
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

    Love the new blog! Can’t wait to check out your next recipe… And hopefully win this bag!

  29. Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:34 pm | Permalink

    good luck on launching the etsy shop. i’ll have to check it out when i have a few more moments than my quick lunch break.

    yay for the new endeavor!

  30. Carly
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

    I guess I’m sort of a stalker. I commented way back when, but I love your blog! I look forward to looking at it everyday. I had a baby girl 10 1/2 weeks ago, so I love your baby posts and seeing what the future holds. I’m going to subscribe so I’m no longer considered a “stalker”! Congrats on the new shop, can’t wait to go look at it.!

  31. Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:35 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday!

  32. Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:36 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday virtual friend! How could I NOT comment when such a bag in at stake? Many blessings on the Etsy launch…its about time you joined that world!

    Thanks for inspiring me to get cookin and sewing too! After having my third baby 3 months ago, I finally entered my sewing room last night and made my daughter a Christmas present. I’ll post it on my blog later today!

    Peace,
    Jen

  33. Misty
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:52 pm | Permalink

    Blog stalker #36(ish) reporting for duty!

    Happy birthday! I’m excited to take a look at your Etsy store, because all the stuff you make on your blog is super cute! I also think the mommy gift sets are a really great idea. I’ve been wanting to learn how to make some of the stuff you make so that I can give them to my many, many friends who are having kids these days.

  34. Anna Cheek
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

    Happy happy birthday Beth! Yes I am a fellow blog stalker…but hey atleast I know you! Although I am not the seamstress, I do love to cook now…and I have tried many of your recipes out…and thank you for introducing me to smitten kitchen! Between the two of your blogs, I always have something new and delicious to try. Your little man is sooo cute, and I’m glad everything is going so well for you and your family! Merry Christmas!

    p.s. I would buy those sets for moms because what a great, hip, useful gift for new mothers!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 18, 2009 at 1:29 pm | Permalink

      Anna! It’s so good to hear from you! Glad to hear you’re cooking up a storm. I love Deb at Smitten Kitchen. I think we have the same taste buds.

      I am getting to work on the mom sets because it seems that a lot of people would like to have those. Stay tuned to the shop and I’ll get some in there pronto!

  35. Posted December 17, 2009 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday! Mine was the 11th. What a beautiful bag!

  36. Kacie J
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 2:49 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday!!! I’m excited about the updates to your Etsy shop!!

  37. Kristin
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 2:50 pm | Permalink

    WOO! HOO! Happy Happy birthday sweet heart! I love the bag and everything you make! I hope you are well loved today and have a great one!!

  38. Kacie J
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 2:50 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday!

  39. Posted December 17, 2009 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

    Happy birthday! And yay for your Etsy shop! As for shop ideas, I love all of the jewelry you make (especially earrings), and patterns, purses, and aprons are great. Other ideas are grocery totes, portfolios, pajama pants, softies, ornaments, napkins, lunch bags, headbands, and laundry bags – basically everything I want but don’t have time to make! Personally, I think you should sell fabric too, but I might be biased because I could just drive over and buy fabric from you. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful birthday!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 18, 2009 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

      I keep thinking about selling fabric. . . it would be a lot of fun! I think I’d be tempted to keep it all for myself though. 🙂

  40. aj
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    Love the new site and the bag! I used your pattern to make my first purse for my sister for Christmas. It’s too adorable! A little tiring for me to make in one sitting, but so worth it once it was done. Thanks for the free pattern, Love you lady!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 18, 2009 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

      You MUST send me pictures of the bag! I want to see your sewing creations!

  41. Posted December 17, 2009 at 3:00 pm | Permalink

    Love the new blog!!! Sooo cute!! And I loved your post about Christmas and consumerism. Really want to be better about putting the focus on Christ and others and not stuff. And once I learn how to use a pattern I will def be buying them from you!!

    • Posted December 20, 2009 at 10:23 am | Permalink

      beth! the logo website is fantastic!! thanks so much for all your help and comments. we really appreciate it!! and i never said happy bday on my last comment so i just wanted to say happy bday and i hope you had a fantastic night with your cute family. your baby boy is just soooo cute!! i love those cheeks!! keep letting us know what you think of our logos as we try some out…and did you love made?? she is sooo good. she has great boy clothes. they are really so hard to find patterns for. i cant wait to see your little pants!

  42. Marci Aeschliman
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 3:01 pm | Permalink

    Great bag! Referred by Jill A

  43. Posted December 17, 2009 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

    Hey Beth! Happy Birthday! I’m so excited about your new etsy store-congrats! Amanda referred me to your new site- so exciting!

  44. Posted December 17, 2009 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

    Aw Beth, Happy Birthday! Congrats on your new blog!

  45. Posted December 17, 2009 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

    Love it all! I have no doubt your etsy shop is thrive as all of your creativity is lovely!

  46. Christina Trammell
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 4:55 pm | Permalink

    I love what you are doing! Everything is beautiful. I have never sewn and never have had an interest until you did all this and now I want to learn. Good luck and have a great birthday!!!

  47. Posted December 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm | Permalink

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! and Congratulations on opening your etsy shoppe and your new blog!

  48. Natalie
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm | Permalink

    I love your blog and all your wonderful recipes, tips on baby, and crafty designs! Thanks for offering a giveaway! I sure would like to win 🙂

  49. Posted December 17, 2009 at 6:48 pm | Permalink

    I love the bag AND the blog design! It is all very cute!

  50. Posted December 17, 2009 at 7:16 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been lurking for a while. Sorry about that! But I love your new site and I love that bag! Congratulations on starting your Etsy shop. I hope you get some good business!

  51. Posted December 17, 2009 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday, friend!! And congrats on all the wonderful and fun newness!! 🙂

  52. Sarah Foss
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday and Congratulations! You are so talented I can’t wait to check out your etsy!

  53. cooperella
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:01 pm | Permalink

    YAAAAY love it! I’m so excited for you, and I can’t wait to send your etsy link to errrbuddy i know! 🙂 yaaaaaay!!!!!

  54. Margo Lindstrom
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

    Once again I am in awe of your talent. I love that bag so much!! Thanks for having things for people like me who don’t sew. 🙂 How do I subscribe to your blog?

    Margo

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 17, 2009 at 9:59 pm | Permalink

      Enter your e-mail in the box that’s right below the free patterns!

  55. Mary Henrichson
    Posted December 17, 2009 at 11:29 pm | Permalink

    Hi Elizabeth, I really enjoy reading your blogs. I am a grandma (Rachael’s mother) but still enjoy all your how to’s, sewing, cooking etc. And your little boy is such a sweety. Call Rachael, she has some news! Congrats on your new blog site and a very Happy Birthday.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 18, 2009 at 1:25 pm | Permalink

      Some news, eh? That’s really exciting! And from your self proclaimed ‘grandma’ status, I think I have some inkling of an idea as to what that news is!

  56. Posted December 18, 2009 at 1:19 am | Permalink

    WOW, you have 63 comments. The odds are rough on this giveaway. Anyways, I really like the new design. Maybe it’s the green, but you did a great job. I’ll friend you on etsy too. Good luck with all the new ventures! Happy late birthday by 19 minutes!

  57. Posted December 18, 2009 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    Beth! I like it! It’s amazing how easy you make it seem to design and sew and cook. I think when I graduate in May and am jobless, I need to become your apprentice and learn how to make things…but I might just be tempted to chunk the machine out the window in the beginning…

  58. Posted December 18, 2009 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    Well done Elizabeth! The blog looks gorgeous and really reflects you as a persona and yourlife style. Love the etsy shop…I will be sure to make a purchase in the near future…gotta love those bags!

    All the best,
    Jenny

  59. Rachael B
    Posted December 18, 2009 at 5:02 pm | Permalink

    Great new site! I love it. And I see how you get people to comment! 🙂 I noticed that my mom commented earlier…she always mentions your blog to me because she reads it and likes what you write, especially that you sew because she likes to. Well, my mom is already a gma 8 times, but I will make it 9 in June! 🙂 We are excited! BTW, I’ve been thinking about that sling and nursing cover you made…let me know when you are putting any in your shop…or would you make a custom one?

    And HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope you and Jason and Jude have some happy moments today!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 18, 2009 at 5:35 pm | Permalink

      Yay! You’re due in June! Congratulation!!! Too exciting! Start looking around for fabric you like – I would love to make you a sling and nursing cover!

  60. Erin
    Posted December 18, 2009 at 5:09 pm | Permalink

    Yay – this lurker is coming out! Love your site and the new look!

  61. Jenn
    Posted December 18, 2009 at 7:57 pm | Permalink

    Cute bag. congrats on the the website.

  62. Kristin Bond
    Posted December 18, 2009 at 9:49 pm | Permalink

    Hi Beth. You dont know me but I went to school with your husband. I stumbled on your blog after Jason mentioned it. I now freguently stalk it. (j/k) You have inspired me to want to learn to sew. The apron will be my first project. I also love the recipes. I too am always looking for a new dinner or great dessert to feed my boys. Anyways congrats on the new blog ant etsy. I look forward to new recipes!

  63. Posted December 19, 2009 at 7:27 am | Permalink

    Wow – I love the new blog, and congrats on the new etsy shop!!! You are awesome!

  64. Tina Leannah
    Posted December 19, 2009 at 8:09 pm | Permalink

    Cute bag.

    Ps. I was referred by Jennifer Worthen.

  65. Posted December 19, 2009 at 10:49 pm | Permalink

    Beth! I love the new website, and that bag is AMAZING!! You are so talented!! I would love to talk to you soon about organic food and such. We watched Food, Inc. today and it peaked our interest.

    Glad you guys are doing well!
    Cynthia

  66. jenna baggs
    Posted December 21, 2009 at 2:39 pm | Permalink

    LOVE it! the new blog look and the bag!! great work!

  67. Ali
    Posted December 21, 2009 at 5:42 pm | Permalink

    Love your blog! And your baby (mine has the same shirt as Jude was wearing in your last post–I love it!). Happy birthday to you…and I’ll admit, I wouldn’t mind winning that CUTE bag! You have some of the greatest stuff!

  68. Posted December 21, 2009 at 5:53 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday! Cool
    Site!

  69. Posted December 21, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Permalink

    Really cute! I love the new look!

  70. Posted December 22, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink

    Holy cow, you have a LOT of readers! I’m a little late commenting, and a LOT late telling you happy bday! So…I’ll do both. I’m about to go favorite your etsy shop for sure! (: Such a cute bag, I’m glad you’re finally doing this – I think you’ll love it!

  71. Ashley
    Posted December 23, 2009 at 10:34 am | Permalink

    As a fellow new mommy, cloth diaper user, and food lover, I love your blog! 🙂

  72. Beka
    Posted December 23, 2009 at 11:14 am | Permalink

    Hi there! I found this website one day through relevant magazine online. I love the recipes. I was just given my mom’s old sewing machine and will have to brush up on my skills.

  73. Lisa Carmosino
    Posted December 23, 2009 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

    Hi, Liz! What an incredibly impressive website – and furthermore, the handbag is FABULOUS! Your skill set is an amazing gift from God. 🙂

  74. holly
    Posted December 23, 2009 at 10:48 pm | Permalink

    beth you amaze me! everything looks great! i need to check out your blog more often when im bored at work:)

    miss you!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 24, 2009 at 7:51 am | Permalink

      Thanks Holly! I miss you too!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Think Liz – don’t miss the giveaway! « elliek on December 17, 2009 at 10:28 am

    […] be fantastic! In the spirit of her new launch and her birthday (Happy Birthday!), she is having a giveway over at her blog. Go check it out and enter the giveway…and I strongly suggest you take the […]

  2. By Merry Christmas :: Giveaway Winner « think liz. on December 25, 2009 at 11:25 am

    […] giveaway – it definitely got you lurkers out of the woodwork and commenting. Thank you! As promised, I am announcing the giveaway winner for the Diana Hobo […]

