Chicken with Dark Beer (Coq à la Bière)

Wow, I am so impressed with everyone that has commented on my last post! I’ll have to remember that giveaways bring out the lurkers to comment! If you haven’t entered the giveaway yet, you still can. Go do it! And if you referred someone, make sure to come back and comment again for your second entry!

Back to some normally scheduled blogging…

It’s finally chilly in Austin. This means it’s time to start on the winter recipes – things that are hardy, stick to your ribs, nice and warm. I saw this recipe while pursuing Cooking Light’s best recipes of 2009 and it appealed to me. It’s seems like a good counter part to the Coq au Vin that I love to make (also good for winter). I used Shiner Boch beer since I know very well what it tastes like (sweet and yeasty) and knew it wouldn’t be too bitter for a sauce. I used chicken breasts since that’s what I already had around but I think it would be great with any cut of chicken. It was flavorful, tasty and stick to your ribs – exactly what I was looking for. The chicken was falling apart as I pulled it out of the pan. Mmmm. I served mine with sour cream mashed potatoes, and next time I will have some French bread too – that sauce is yummy and needs to be sopped up!

Recipe for Chicken with Dark Beer (Coq à la Bière)

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 21, 2009 at 10:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks both tasty and cozy! I think I’ll have to try this one!

  2. Posted December 21, 2009 at 12:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks great. I’m making your coq au vin tonight – we make it a lot, actually. It’s one of Lance’s favorites!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted December 21, 2009 at 2:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

      The coq au vin is probably the most requested meal from Jason in our house. . . it’s not pretty but it’s easy and tasty!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

