Sesame Noodles with Chicken

Regardless of what some of you may think, I do try to be somewhat healthy in our everyday normal meals. It may not seem that way with what I post on the blog because sometimes I get distracted by a great new recipe (like toffee, or butterscotch sauce – to be posted about later) and my plans for healthy veer a little off course. I have found a few tasty, healthy meals lately that are not covered in butter or cream. This one is a good example of that – still creamy and delicious, but it’s from cooking light! This is a great ‘take-out at home’ meal. It came together quickly and was so much better than what you get at a take out restaurant. I used 1/4c tahini (sesame seed paste, also used in hummus) and 1/4c of peanut butter instead of 1/2c of only peanut butter. I like tahini a lot. Do save a little bit of the pasta cooking water to thin the sauce because it thickens a bit after it starts to cools down. No need for a gloppy sauce!

I served this with the recommended side salad of cucumber, tomato, onion and cilantro tossed with rice wine vinegar and sesame oil (salt and pepper too) and it was a nice cool counterpart to the somewhat spicy chicken noodles. You can always use extra Sriracha to spice things up if the recipe isn’t spicy enough for you.

Recipe for Sesame Noodles with Chicken

2 Comments

  1. Posted December 22, 2009 at 11:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks good – interesting because Siracha was like Bon Appetit’s ingredient of the year or something like that…We have it but we don’t use it very often – maybe I need to use it more!

  2. Carly
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 5:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks really good! I love peanut sauce, so I will be trying this soon!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

